Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Information Desk
Reload this Page >

Newbie here: some advice for European traveler on points and business class?

Old Aug 11, 22, 1:54 pm
Original Poster

Programs: vladciurca

Hi everyone, for some reason i'm way late to this game and remembered some friends said this is the go to place for finding great deals on business class and so much more.

I'm based in Transylvania, Romania and have a few questions as i travel quite a bit:

1. Are there any good Europe to US deals on business class? For some reason, on the Premium Deals forum it seems mostly from US to Europe ... or i don't know how to properly search

2. Since i'm once or twice in the US, is it worth for me to collect miles on JetBlue, AA, Delta, etc? From what i saw they don't expire, but we also don't have any European credit cards which can provide extra miles on these airlines as far as i know.

If there's anything else (forums, threads) a newbie should be keeping an eye on, i'd appreciate any suggestions. Thank you!
Old Aug 11, 22, 5:18 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Congratulations on your first post!

1. In this sub-forum, I see some good fares originating in Budapest, Rome, Stockholm, and Madrid:

https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/premium-fare-deals-740/

2. Whether you should credit any of your flights to a U.S.-based program or to a foreign one depends upon a lot of different factors. Different programs can earn earn different amounts of points/miles for the very same flights. Similarly, different programs can charge different amounts of points/miles (and cash surcharges, too,) for the same redemptions. Also, if earning elite status is important to you, the very same flights can get you closer to attaining status in some programs, compared to others.

Good luck.
Old Aug 11, 22, 6:08 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Welcome to FT
Originally Posted by vladciurca
<snip>