FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Information Desk (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/information-desk-730/)
-   -   Best time to fly from HKG (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/information-desk/1987287-best-time-fly-hkg.html)

PattonsMom Sep 14, 2019 12:45 pm

Best time to fly from HKG

Newbie here! Husband and I are flying home from a 12 day trip to China/Hong Kong in October. We live 3 hours from SFO and will be driving home. We're looking for advice on what is the best time to fly from HKG to SFO to beat jet lag and make our commute home bearable. Our choices are:

EVA Air 870/18
Depart HKG 3:25 pm
Connecting/Layover in Taipei
Depart 7:40 pm
Arrive SFO 4 pm

UVA 862
Depart HKG 11:15 am
Non-Stop
Arrive SFO 8:55 am

Both flights are on 777 - 300ER. Seating would be in Premium Economy or Business Class.

Any advice on which flight to take and sleep strategies is appreciated!

84fiero Sep 14, 2019 8:54 pm

Personally I'd take the nonstop UA flight over the longer connecting itinerary.

Yoshi212 Sep 14, 2019 10:44 pm

In legit PE I'd take the Nonstop too over connecting to BR PE.

Efrem Sep 15, 2019 8:55 am

I'd take the non-stop too. I could get more uninterrupted sleep on a lie-flat (more or less, perhaps not exactly horizontal) seat in J - or if I didn't mind popping an Ambien CR in PE. Sleep doesn't do a thing for jet lag due to time zone changes, but it helps in other ways.

MSPeconomist Sep 21, 2019 5:13 pm

I think it's a bad idea to drive so far and in Bay Area traffic conditions after such a long flight.

Have you considered taking an airport hotel parking package and sleeping overnight upon arrival before driving home? IME this can be cheaper than just the cost of on-site airport parking and most airport hotels have free shuttle service.

garykung Sep 21, 2019 6:20 pm