Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie flying to Italy = need Premium Economy

Search this Thread

Old Mar 9, 2018, 8:31 am
Original Poster

Newbie flying to Italy = need Premium Economy

Newbie here (warning!)

Am taking wife to Italy in Sept '18. Flying out of Austin Tx.
Want to upgrade (miles using CapitalOne 50K+ pts or $) to Premium Economy.
What airline has best Premium Economy seats (I am 6' 3" 220lbs)?
Guidance for using CapitalOne points? Which airline(s) to look at?
Appreciate any/all help and guidance.
Thx
OG
Old Mar 9, 2018, 9:31 am

Programs: AA Gold. UA Silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Your options are going to depend on where you're going in Italy & how many connections you're willing to make. For a 1 stop to Rome you're limited to AA via DFW, A DL-AZ combo of flights via JFK or ATL & BA via LHR. Depending on the ticket for any domestic legs in the US or intra-EU you may be seated in regular economy, an economy plus (generally more legroom) or a business product. Domestic US Economy Plus (or equivalent) tends to be better with legroom when compared to Intra-EU business class but intra-EU business class does have an empty seat next to you.

Take a look at who flies your route, when, with what layovers & through where and then take a look at the options that fit your needs & wants. Each product is a little different. Make sure you know the intricacies of each product. Delta only provides a true Premium Economy product on their A350 but some tickets will sell a comfort+ seat as premium economy which isn't quite the same thing.

Can't advise about the Capital One part.
Old Mar 9, 2018, 12:45 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by Yoshi212