Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Information Desk
Reload this Page >

Is Star-Alliance better than OneWorld better for redeeming miles ?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 10, 2014, 11:59 am
Original Poster

Hello FT,

I am ORD united MP member. I have around 45,000 miles.

I was looking at redeeming miles for a trip to Asia (HKG)?

UAL MP is requiring 42,500 for it While American or Delta is asking for 55 and up.

I am new to redeeming miles, and any help/advise is welcome?

Thank you
Old Oct 10, 2014, 12:15 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

What advice are you seeking? AA charges 55K for a one-way "SAAver" award from North America to AA's Asia 2 zone in Business Class; the cost for Economy Class is 35K miles. Redemptions on AA partners CX and JL require a call to AA; they cannot be booked at aa.com.
Old Oct 10, 2014, 12:25 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

When it comes to redeeming miles for an award trip the alliance does not matter. All airlines FFP's are different and have different rules & mileage earn/burn and award copay fee's. Some routes are better served by one airline and its alliance & non alliance freq flyer partner airlines

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/infor...help-here.html
Old Oct 10, 2014, 12:26 pm

Programs: AA, Delta, UA & thanks to FTers for my PC Gold!
Originally Posted by guv1976
[SIZE=1]What advice are you seeking? <snip>
Besides if OP's only FFP is MileagePlus, I am not sure how OneWorld's redeeming scheme would help:

Originally Posted by Punjabi312
I am ORD united MP member. I have around 45,000 miles.
However, if OP's thinking about which alliance to build up miles, that would be another story.
Old Oct 11, 2014, 6:50 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Be aware the one FFP may have a better rate for awards, however another FFP may have better availability for awards.