London May 2015

Old May 16, 14, 10:53 am
Original Poster

London May 2015

I'm new to all this travel hacking stuff and I hope I'm posting in the right spot, but I have a few questions.

My husband & I are planning a trip to London next May(dates are kind of open) and I'm trying to get all our sky mile points together so they can at least get us a discount on the flight.
When I say 'points together' I mean opening AMEX cards and spend the money. In the end we will only have 95,000 Skymiles.

My question is…

Is it better to book a r/t ticket and have the points help out with the full cost, or to book the one way award ticket to London on the first day it's available to book, then just purchase my return flight later on. My understanding was that the sooner you book the award tickets the less Skymiles it costs.

I don't even know if 95K Skymiles will really touch the cost of the flight, but it's worth a shot. I do plan on opening the Chase Ink Plus card to help with hotels or even the flight home.

I do have other points available through Wells Fargo…but I don't think they can help with any travel stuff.

Any help is appreciated…I want to become as successful as all you regular travel hackers on here…you got to start somewhere, right!?
Old May 16, 14, 11:19 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.601 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Welcome to FT,

Delta currently charges the same number of miles for a one-way as for a roundtrip award. That is not expected to change until some time in 2015.

A one-way cash ticket to or from London can cost as much as, or more than a roundtrip cash ticket, depending on the airline.