Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Information Desk
Reload this Page >

new to points collecting--somebody stop me!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 12, 2014, 5:35 pm
Original Poster

I am relatively new to this points/miles thing. It is awesome. All I want to do is find ways of getting more! More points, more miles--more, more, more! Somebody stop me, I am out of control!

I few months ago I signed up for Chase United and Chase Southwest, each with 50,000 miles. I have a trip to Curacao planned soon using my United miles.

I don't have a trip planned for my Southwest miles yet.

I realized that I have the flight miles, however, I didn't plan for the hotels. Ugh!

I am paying out of pocket for my hotel in Curacao. Oh well.

I am not planning my Southwest trip yet because of the hotel and other cost issue.

I recently read on the Frugal Travel Guy about a trip to Hawaii. I applied for those cards so now I am working on the spending requirements for a trip to Hawaii. This trip has airfare, hotel and rental car. Once I get from this trip in October, I will cancel the credit cards before incurring the annual fees. My plan is to then plot out another trip using miles.

I want to use my Southwest miles (50,000) for my child and myself to fly to the Caribbean. Need to find how to get a place to stay.

I have been looking at the forums and I have a lot to learn, including abbreviations, i.e. "DO 10" DO 11, etc.

This miles thing is a whole new world. I find myself getting a bit obsessed!
Old Jan 15, 2014, 4:58 pm

Programs: Hilton-Diamond Lifetime Platinum AA UA, WN-CP, SPG Gold.
They have hotel cards also,
Old Jan 16, 2014, 2:48 pm

Programs: DL reject, Hilton Diamond, IHG Plat, Jelly of the Month, formerly NWA Plat (RIP)
If you are looking for someone to talk you out of collecting miles and points, you have come to the wrong place! Here you will find enablers of your new-found obsession.

Don't fight it, enjoy the rewards.