Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > India
Reload this Page >

Visa required for transfer in Mumbai? LHR-BOM-CMB

Visa required for transfer in Mumbai? LHR-BOM-CMB

Old Aug 23, 18, 3:41 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: Executive Club
Posts: 2
Visa required for transfer in Mumbai? LHR-BOM-CMB

Hi

My colleague is flying from LHR to Mumbai with British Airways. She then has a separate ticket with Jet Airlines to Sri Lanka. The flights are a few hours apart. She understands she can't interline her baggage as she has bought the tickets separately. Therefore she will need to pass through immigration collect her luggage and check in for Jet Airways. She has a visa for Sri Lanka but not for Mumbai? Is it required? She will pass immigration but not leave the airport

Thank you air experts!
StAlbFam is offline  
Old Aug 23, 18, 4:23 am
  #2  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: Executive Club
Posts: 2
If she does need a transit visa to collect luggage.
Would she need a transit visa if she forgoes her checked-in luggage and just takes hand luggage? Would she still need to pass through immigration to transfer to Jet Airways or could she does this airside.

Hand luggage only may be the best option as the flight is soon
StAlbFam is offline  
Old Aug 23, 18, 6:28 am
  #3  
Hilton Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: DCA
Programs: Marriott GLD; Hilton GLD; Free Agent (former AA PLT/US GLD)
Posts: 1,166
It depends on the country of her citizenship. Unless she holds a passport from a country that allows visa-free access or grants a visa on arrival, she will need to apply for a visa or e-visa in advance.
Beltway2A is online now  
Old Aug 23, 18, 10:24 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,547
if she has to pass through immigration then she will need a visa....

also, ba won't allow her to board without a visa....
Keyser is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread