Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > India
Reload this Page >

2nd entry on eVisa, which line?

2nd entry on eVisa, which line?

Old Oct 11, 17, 6:04 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, Hertz pres circle, SPG Gold, hilton diamond
Posts: 2,408
2nd entry on eVisa, which line?

when I flew into India a couple of weeks back there was a visa line, a few other assorted lines and a huge, sprawling mess of an eVisa line

im now about to return for my second permissible entry (double entry visa) do I have to enter through the same evisa line or can I use what was the much shorter regular visa line, since now, there is already a visa in my passport?
aceman is offline  
Old Oct 11, 17, 8:57 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,567
Originally Posted by aceman View Post
when I flew into India a couple of weeks back there was a visa line, a few other assorted lines and a huge, sprawling mess of an eVisa line

im now about to return for my second permissible entry (double entry visa) do I have to enter through the same evisa line or can I use what was the much shorter regular visa line, since now, there is already a visa in my passport?
good question....

i don't have an answer for you but i would try the regular visa line....hopefully someone here has been in the same situation as you & can provide a more definitive answer....

by the way, which airport are you flying into????
Keyser is offline  
Old Oct 11, 17, 10:16 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, Hertz pres circle, SPG Gold, hilton diamond
Posts: 2,408
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
good question....

i don't have an answer for you but i would try the regular visa line....hopefully someone here has been in the same situation as you & can provide a more definitive answer....

by the way, which airport are you flying into????
Delhi.

it was horrific. Almost 2 hours in the eVisa line

technically you would think that the regular line would be ok, the thing that took time was the checking of paper work etc in the eVisa line. Technically they don't need to do that now, just tick in the passport second entry and then let you through... but common sense and Indian beauracracy don't often mix...
aceman is offline  
Old Oct 12, 17, 12:48 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,567
Originally Posted by aceman View Post
but common sense and Indian beauracracy don't often mix...
so true....

i would try the regular visa line....
Keyser is offline  
Old Oct 12, 17, 10:19 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, Hertz pres circle, SPG Gold, hilton diamond
Posts: 2,408
Yeah I think I will, just to satisfy my curiosity and to provide guidance for the future here. Wish me luck!
aceman is offline  
Old Oct 13, 17, 3:44 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,567
Originally Posted by aceman View Post
Yeah I think I will, just to satisfy my curiosity and to provide guidance for the future here. Wish me luck!
good luck....let us know what happens....
Keyser is offline  
Old Oct 13, 17, 1:08 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, Hertz pres circle, SPG Gold, hilton diamond
Posts: 2,408
Well I arrived and the hall was almost totally empty. I spoke to the info desk guy and asked him and he said I could go to the regular visa line. Funnily, that line had a couple of people in it, so I walked to the eVisa line and was seen immediately.

I deliberately didn't pull out any paperwork and handed over my passport opened at the existing visa page. He looked at it typed in the number, took my thumb print only, and I was done.

as an aside I used my debit card at Delhi duty free and later this evening I've had 2 fraudulent charges go through. The people I'm with say the duty free there is notorious for this
aceman is offline  
Old Oct 14, 17, 1:15 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,567
Originally Posted by aceman View Post
Well I arrived and the hall was almost totally empty. I spoke to the info desk guy and asked him and he said I could go to the regular visa line. Funnily, that line had a couple of people in it, so I walked to the eVisa line and was seen immediately.

I deliberately didn't pull out any paperwork and handed over my passport opened at the existing visa page. He looked at it typed in the number, took my thumb print only, and I was done.

as an aside I used my debit card at Delhi duty free and later this evening I've had 2 fraudulent charges go through. The people I'm with say the duty free there is notorious for this
glad it all worked out....

i shop at duty free every time i travel & have never had a problem with fraudulent charges....as a precaution i only use my credit card & never my debit card....
Keyser is offline  
Old Oct 14, 17, 11:32 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, Hertz pres circle, SPG Gold, hilton diamond
Posts: 2,408
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
glad it all worked out....

i shop at duty free every time i travel & have never had a problem with fraudulent charges....as a precaution i only use my credit card & never my debit card....
yeah my debit card is a prepaid card with very good app and zero fx fees so I use it for this sort of thing.

2 charges made for goair about 6 hours after I landed, and 2 attempts today that failed for cleartravel.com

people said it's well know, and I googled Delhi duty free card cloning and a few complaints came up on their Facebook page about this, so be careful!
aceman is offline  
Old Oct 18, 17, 10:12 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by aceman View Post
yeah my debit card is a prepaid card with very good app and zero fx fees so I use it for this sort of thing.

2 charges made for goair about 6 hours after I landed, and 2 attempts today that failed for cleartravel.com

people said it's well know, and I googled Delhi duty free card cloning and a few complaints came up on their Facebook page about this, so be careful!
Not true for me. Shopped several times on a debit card but maybe I was lucky
dsb340 is offline  
Old Nov 6, 17, 11:54 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, Hertz pres circle, SPG Gold, hilton diamond
Posts: 2,408
Interesting that a new user registers to tell us how safe delhi duty free is. I'm curious if he will remain an active poster.....


Anyway, Delhi duty free seem to have their heads firmly in the sand on this one, I mentioned it on their facebook page (having got there after googling delhi duty free card cloning and finding other people complaining about it)

Their reply on their facebook page was that this is the first time they've ever heard about it -despite other complaints of the exact same thing mentioned there.

I also emailed their fraud department, and today got this reply

Dear Aceman,

Thank you for contacting us.

It is a shocking news you have shared with us.

We assure nothing of such can happen from our end however, as the billing took place on 13th Oct and we keep our cctv footage for a month. I request you to kindly share the bill copy for us to investigate your case.

If for any reason you do not have the bill copy, Kindly share the passport number under which the bill was generated. We will get the soft copy of the bill and will investigate the same.

Request your quick reply.
So they do vaguely seem to be wanting to look into it, but are starting with the premise that its impossible that it could have happened their end.... Well, lets see
aceman is offline  
Old Nov 13, 17, 4:22 am
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton IHG LH BA TK
Posts: 12,126
Originally Posted by aceman View Post
Well I arrived and the hall was almost totally empty. I spoke to the info desk guy and asked him and he said I could go to the regular visa line. Funnily, that line had a couple of people in it, so I walked to the eVisa line and was seen immediately.

I deliberately didn't pull out any paperwork and handed over my passport opened at the existing visa page. He looked at it typed in the number, took my thumb print only, and I was done.
How odd! I was in the same situation and was told quite definitely to go the eVisa route. It wasn't mobbed, so for future reference I asked the officer dealing with my passport for confirmation: he said in theory once the visa is issued, electronically or not, any position can deal with it. But his advice was to use the dedicated lines to avoid "possible delays" (as he delicately put it ).
IAN-UK is offline  
Old Nov 13, 17, 9:50 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, New York
Programs: AS MVP ; Free Agent Super Duper Diamond Treasure Chest ;)
Posts: 4,429
A colleague was denied entry into India, at Delhi, last week because while his e-visa was within its validity period, his last trip to India was 62 days prior. The immigration stamp from that previous visit states that the following (second visit) must be within 60 days of last entry. Is that piece of information well known, because the immigration stamp is the only place it states that.

Originally Posted by aceman View Post
as an aside I used my debit card at Delhi duty free and later this evening I've had 2 fraudulent charges go through. The people I'm with say the duty free there is notorious for this
Oh yeah, that happened to me, within a day of my using a Chase card (Sapphire Preferred, IIRC) at the Delhi Duty Free. When I mentioned this to someone, stories of similar experiences poured.
knit-in is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread