Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > India
Reload this Page >

BLR Airport closure due to Aero India

BLR Airport closure due to Aero India

Old Feb 6, 17, 6:21 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC 50K, MR Plat
Posts: 46
BLR Airport closure due to Aero India

Hey all,

Is anyone scheduled to fly out during the days of the closure (2/8 onward)?

I fly out 2/9 @ 17:00 on AI503 and the closure is supposed to end at 16:30. Knowing India, what are the chances that it goes late and my flight is delayed?

Wondering if this happened previously and if any FT'ers were affected.

Details on the closure here: http://www.bengaluruairport.com/bial...=n8jfot9rj_274
dP21 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 17, 7:41 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,566
your flight is unlikely to be affected....surprisingly all of these airports are pretty good with the closure timings & stick to them quite well....
Keyser is offline  
Old Feb 6, 17, 9:06 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC 50K, MR Plat
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
your flight is unlikely to be affected....surprisingly all of these airports are pretty good with the closure timings & stick to them quite well....
OK, that's reassuring. I was thinking of the whole "Indian Standard Time" phenomenon / laissez-faire attitude causing a delay.

I think AI had scheduled this days flight to accommodate it (BLR claims they informed all the Air Lines) so maybe it will be OK.

I just don't want to miss my connection in DEL!
dP21 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 17, 9:17 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,566
Originally Posted by dP21 View Post
OK, that's reassuring. I was thinking of the whole "Indian Standard Time" phenomenon / laissez-faire attitude causing a delay.

I think AI had scheduled this days flight to accommodate it (BLR claims they informed all the Air Lines) so maybe it will be OK.

I just don't want to miss my connection in DEL!
how long do you have to connect in del????
Keyser is offline  
Old Feb 6, 17, 10:10 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC 50K, MR Plat
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
how long do you have to connect in del????
DEL connection is at 00:30 on 2/10. So I have about 4 hours layover.
dP21 is offline  
Old Feb 8, 17, 11:15 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,566
Originally Posted by dP21 View Post
DEL connection is at 00:30 on 2/10. So I have about 4 hours layover.
more than enough time....
Keyser is offline  
Old Feb 8, 17, 11:34 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC 50K, MR Plat
Posts: 46
I checked the previous day's flight time, and it looked like it arrived at 21:15 due to a 90 minute delay.

I presume even with that type of delay I would make my connection at 00:30?
dP21 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 17, 5:44 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,566
Originally Posted by dP21 View Post
I checked the previous day's flight time, and it looked like it arrived at 21:15 due to a 90 minute delay.

I presume even with that type of delay I would make my connection at 00:30?
yes you would....
Keyser is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread