Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > India
Reload this Page >

Kolkata (CCU) Airside Transit/TWOV

Kolkata (CCU) Airside Transit/TWOV

Old Jun 19, 16, 5:04 pm
  #1  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Here
Programs: HHonors Diamond, AA EXP
Posts: 1,496
Kolkata (CCU) Airside Transit/TWOV

Planning on doing air-side transit at Kolkata and any experiences, tips/suggestions are most welcome. As the transit is AK to QR- We have procured Indian visa if really required but ideally would prefer to stay airside- all and any experiences much welcome!
ashkale is offline  
Old Jun 20, 16, 4:18 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 27,864
do you have checked-in luggage????

are you on a single or separate tickets????
Keyser is offline  
Old Jun 20, 16, 5:22 am
  #3  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Here
Programs: HHonors Diamond, AA EXP
Posts: 1,496
Separate tickets connecting from AirAsia to Qatar. Only hand carry luggage.
ashkale is offline  
Old Jun 20, 16, 6:05 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BOS
Programs: BA Gold, AA Platinum, SQ Gold, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 1,360
Originally Posted by ashkale View Post
Separate tickets connecting from AirAsia to Qatar. Only hand carry luggage.
I don't think air Asia has interlude agreement with Qatar (or anyone for that matter).

This means that you won't have the boarding cards for Qatar flight and will have to clear immigration/ customs and check in again, do immigration/ customs / security again.
vishalgupta22 is offline  
Old Jun 20, 16, 6:59 am
  #5  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Here
Programs: HHonors Diamond, AA EXP
Posts: 1,496
I will have web checked boarding passes in hand. I don't need any interline arrangements as I have no luggage and wondered if it is possible to call Qatar to meet us at the gate.
ashkale is offline  
Old Jun 20, 16, 9:29 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 27,864
Originally Posted by ashkale View Post
wondered if it is possible to call Qatar to meet us at the gate.
you could definitely try that....such a transfer can work in del or bom but not sure if it will work in ccu....
Keyser is offline  
Old Jun 20, 16, 9:59 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Programs: AI Gold, TK Gold, QR Silver, 9W BluePlus
Posts: 392
I have not seen transit only area in CCU. It should work but am pretty sure CCU does not see a lot of these and you may face some challenges in the same.
CCU_Flyer is offline  
Old Jun 21, 16, 1:21 am
  #8  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 40,425
Again, CCU has a transit area and a transit desk before the immigration check point. QR needs to know you are coming, as webcheckin boarding passes need to be verified by QR before the CISF will let you into security.
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Jun 21, 16, 2:03 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Washington DC
Programs: QR: Gold; Marriott: Amb; UA: 1K; Taj: Silv
Posts: 247
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
you could definitely try that....such a transfer can work in del or bom but not sure if it will work in ccu....
PM me if you have trouble contacting QR in Kolkata. I know many of the staff members there and can put you in touch with one of them.
Shounak is offline  
Old Jun 21, 16, 2:15 pm
  #10  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Here
Programs: HHonors Diamond, AA EXP
Posts: 1,496
Thanks! I will PM you separately, much appreciated.
ashkale is offline  
Old Jul 3, 16, 3:00 pm
  #11  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Here
Programs: HHonors Diamond, AA EXP
Posts: 1,496
I just completed this twov airside transfer at ccu. Airasia staff clearly had not done it before so took us a good two hours to sort the paper work and get to departures. Apparently if you are on Indian passport it is a hassle to do airside transits in India!Also Thanks to shounak for providing the qr duty desk details. I will post the photos and details of the airside/twov shortly.
ashkale is offline  
Old Jul 13, 16, 6:56 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: asia miles
Posts: 376
Originally Posted by ashkale View Post
I just completed this twov airside transfer at ccu. Airasia staff clearly had not done it before so took us a good two hours to sort the paper work and get to departures. Apparently if you are on Indian passport it is a hassle to do airside transits in India!Also Thanks to shounak for providing the qr duty desk details. I will post the photos and details of the airside/twov shortly.
thanks that would be great to have more info
blandy62 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: