FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   India (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/india-478/)
-   -   Business Travel to BOM - Customs Clarification, etc. (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/india/1701989-business-travel-bom-customs-clarification-etc.html)

Gauchograd99 Aug 12, 2015 12:31 am

Business Travel to BOM - Customs Clarification, etc.

Apologies if this is very redundant and covered in various threads, but I am a pro flyer within the US and a complete rookie when it comes to international travel. It seems I am going to be heading to BOM (then traveling onward to the job site outside the city) for work here in the near future, and after reading the threads here and the 2015 Customs Guide for Travelers, I am still a bit in the dark here on many things and hope to make things go as smoothly as possible.

- Apparently you cannot bring in or remove Indian currency from India? This doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me as you cannot come in prepared to hit the ground running? Also, is there a currency exchange before customs on the way out where you have to exchange currency?

- How does customs ACTUALLY work in regards to personal (i.e. work) computers and your personal headphones? Should I leave those items at home (maybe have the company ship a laptop for me) and just deal with aircraft noise without my headphones? It seems any computer would be over the allowance for travelers of non-Indian descent, and the same for most headphones. That said, should I expect the customs people to want me to pay for them? Same sort of question on leaving.

- Any current tips or tricks for clearing customs both ways, any suggestions about the airport itself (airline hasn't been determined yet), and general information is greatly appreciated.

If it helps, the most probable airline choices are BA, United, or Delta/AF. Lower probability would be KLM, Cathay Pacific, or Lufthansa.

oliver2002 Aug 12, 2015 2:18 am