Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > India
Reload this Page >

BOM airport, can I exit the airport after checkin?

BOM airport, can I exit the airport after checkin?

Old Oct 16, 10, 3:47 am
  #1  
mp2
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Programs: UA 1K, Hyatt Diamond, Marriot Gold
Posts: 289
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (SymbianOS/9.4; Series60/5.0 NokiaN97-3/22.2.110; Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1) AppleWebKit/525 (KHTML, like Gecko) BrowserNG/7.1.4)

i recall that in the past, one could not exit the aiport or checkin area once you got in. with the new airport, wondering if things have changed. I want to checkin early to get exit row seats but not get stuck inside the airport for 3+ hrs
mp2 is offline  
Old Oct 16, 10, 4:14 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Exile
Posts: 14,911
Officially you are not supposed to but its been done before and undoubtedly will be done again.
B747-437B is offline  
Old Oct 16, 10, 9:02 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: All over India
Programs: 9W Plat, Flying Blue Elite, HHonors Gold, Accor Le Club Plat
Posts: 814
Originally Posted by mp2 View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (SymbianOS/9.4; Series60/5.0 NokiaN97-3/22.2.110; Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1) AppleWebKit/525 (KHTML, like Gecko) BrowserNG/7.1.4)

i recall that in the past, one could not exit the aiport or checkin area once you got in. with the new airport, wondering if things have changed. I want to checkin early to get exit row seats but not get stuck inside the airport for 3+ hrs
As B747-437B says, you can't and yet you can. That's true of all airports in India these days. If all you want are exit row seats, why not try and check in online, if that facility is available? In any case on most domestic airlines, my view is that OLCI is either popular or fee-based, except on IC where people rarely use the OLCI option.
aniruddh77 is offline  
Old Oct 16, 10, 9:18 pm
  #4  
mp2
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Programs: UA 1K, Hyatt Diamond, Marriot Gold
Posts: 289
Thanks for the responses. I can't OLCI as I am on LH on a codeshare, so it can't find my booking. So will have to try at the airport
mp2 is offline  
Old Oct 16, 10, 10:30 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,123
Ask the issuing airline or travel agent for your record locator on the operating airline.
SeeBuyFly is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 12:38 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MAA
Programs: BA bronze, Marriott silver
Posts: 2,798
Call the airline and place a seat request.
hserus is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 4:42 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 27,883
Originally Posted by mp2 View Post
Thanks for the responses. I can't OLCI as I am on LH on a codeshare, so it can't find my booking. So will have to try at the airport
where did you book your ticket????just ask them to block a seat for you....

like others have said, officially you are not supposed to leave the airport after check-in but it is very easy to do so....
Keyser is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 5:00 am
  #8  
mp2
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Programs: UA 1K, Hyatt Diamond, Marriot Gold
Posts: 289
My ticket was issued by Air Canada. I could OLCI, but the exit row seats are showing occupied. From what I recall, the exit row seats are assigned only at the airport for most airlines.

For leaving the airport, I'll try my luck
mp2 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 1:38 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FAT, LHR
Posts: 6,650
I dont see why you can not. You just need the same itin that you got in with, to get in again. Im trying to recall from when I was there in late Aug.
chanp is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 1:42 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 27,883
Originally Posted by chanp View Post
I dont see why you can not. You just need the same itin that you got in with, to get in again. Im trying to recall from when I was there in late Aug.
once you have your boarding pass, the guards at the gate may stop you from going out again....
Keyser is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 2:20 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FAT, LHR
Posts: 6,650
Originally Posted by saad View Post
once you have your boarding pass, the guards at the gate may stop you from going out again....
If so, maybe you can tell them that you havent gotten them yet, and you need to get something else. I dont remember the guards at the door watching to see if I got mine or not.
chanp is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 2:44 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 27,883
Originally Posted by chanp View Post
If so, maybe you can tell them that you havent gotten them yet, and you need to get something else. I dont remember the guards at the door watching to see if I got mine or not.
as a number of people have posted on this thread, you are not supposed to leave the airport once you have got your boarding pass but people manage to do so all the time....

the guards do not check whether you have got your boarding pass or not but they are instructed not to let people out from the entry gates....& since you cannot go to arrivals from the departure area, there is a chance the guards may not let you out once you have entered the terminal....but sometimes they don't care who goes out....depends on your luck....
Keyser is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 5:08 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Exile
Posts: 14,911
The usual "kuch bhool gaya" story never fails to work even if the security folks stop you.

It's not for security reasons as much as to ensure the terminal flow is maintained. If everyone left the terminal after checkin and rushed back at departure time, the lines at Immigration and Security would be even worse than they are now!
B747-437B is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 1:03 am
  #14  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 40,452
... not to forget the crowds of friends and familiy hanging around outside with little fare well ceremonies going on.

You can exit if someone from the airline you are flying on takes you to the CISF supervisor and documents you have to leave for a reason.

Good luck find someone from AC to do this for you

PS: there is an elevator/lift that goes down to arrivals (and up to the airline offices) right opposite the lines for immigration in T2B. There is a guard there, but you never know.
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Oct 19, 10, 11:12 am
  #15  
mp2
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Programs: UA 1K, Hyatt Diamond, Marriot Gold
Posts: 289
So eventually, I didn't need to exit the airport, as I entered pretty late. Upon entering there's a huge sign that says "You cannot exit the airport once you checkin" (or something to that effect). As others have said, its not impossible to get out, if there's a valid reason.
mp2 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: