Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > India-Based Airlines
Reload this Page >

Can you upgrade your fare class in Y on AI?

Can you upgrade your fare class in Y on AI?

Old Apr 11, 18, 3:02 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold, Marriott & SPG Plat, Hilton Gold, ShangriLa Jade, Enterprise Plat, Taj Gold
Posts: 1,479
Can you upgrade your fare class in Y on AI?

So my company buys the cheapest tickets in Y for employee travel. Now if I'm traveling in say class V can I pay more to get to class B or H or Y (or similar) to earn some/more miles?

If yes how do I do it? WIll the call center do it or do I need to do it at the airport?
PiperAtGatesofDawn is offline  
Old Apr 11, 18, 9:29 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Goa, India
Programs: Vistara Gold, Marriott Titanium, Hyatt Explorist, Hilton Gold
Posts: 972
I have done this a few times on Jet in order to make the fare upgradeable so in theory it should be possible on AI.
Anish is offline  
Old Apr 12, 18, 2:56 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold, Marriott & SPG Plat, Hilton Gold, ShangriLa Jade, Enterprise Plat, Taj Gold
Posts: 1,479
Originally Posted by Anish View Post
I have done this a few times on Jet in order to make the fare upgradeable so in theory it should be possible on AI.
You said it man..."in theory..." This is AI we're dealing with.

Now upgrading to the highest fare bucket within Y is generally doable because that lets you upgrade to biz etc.

But has anyone had any success / knows how to upgrade from say E to G. I don't want to go to the highest fare bucket. I want to go to a fare bucket that gives me the miles I need.
PiperAtGatesofDawn is offline  
Old Apr 13, 18, 12:45 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,566
yes its possible but they will not only charge you the fare difference but a change fee as well....

Last edited by Keyser; Apr 13, 18 at 2:03 am
Keyser is offline  
Old Apr 13, 18, 1:59 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold, Marriott & SPG Plat, Hilton Gold, ShangriLa Jade, Enterprise Plat, Taj Gold
Posts: 1,479
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
yes its possible but they will not only change you the fare difference but a change fee as well....
They are treating it like a change! Wow! How does one do it? Can the call centers handle it?

The change fee will hurt.
PiperAtGatesofDawn is offline  
Old Apr 13, 18, 2:03 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,566
Originally Posted by PiperAtGatesofDawn View Post
They are treating it like a change! Wow! How does one do it? Can the call centers handle it?

The change fee will hurt.
unfortunately there is no other way to do it....they will treat it as a change....you can do it via the call centers or at the airport as well....
Keyser is offline  
Old Apr 13, 18, 2:30 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold, Marriott & SPG Plat, Hilton Gold, ShangriLa Jade, Enterprise Plat, Taj Gold
Posts: 1,479
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
unfortunately there is no other way to do it....they will treat it as a change....you can do it via the call centers or at the airport as well....
Thanks man!
PiperAtGatesofDawn is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread