Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > India-Based Airlines
Reload this Page >

Any low-cost carriers moving to T3 at Delhi?

Any low-cost carriers moving to T3 at Delhi?

Reply

Old Jan 24, 14, 12:23 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 264
Any low-cost carriers moving to T3 at Delhi?

Hi,

For awhile, there was talk of the LCCs moving from 1D to 3 at IGI airport. Does anyone know if this is still in the pipeline, or what the timeline is?

Thanks.
intltravel90 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 14, 2:42 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New Delhi
Programs: Jet Privilege
Posts: 140
My opinion is 1D should be an exclusive low cost terminal, even for international ops. Makes it much easier for 6E, SG and others to transfer their pax seamlessly.
Vishal Mehra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 14, 2:53 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 264
I'd rather see them transfer to T3, which has more amenities and better connectivity, including the Airport Express line. Not to mention ease of connecting from one airline to another.

Regardless, I know there was discussion in 2011 of shifting all of these airlines to T3. What is the status of those talks?

It seems like a shortsighted move to charge different amounts to those using T1D and T3.
intltravel90 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 14, 5:04 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,060
Originally Posted by intltravel90 View Post
Regardless, I know there was discussion in 2011 of shifting all of these airlines to T3. What is the status of those talks?
source????
Keyser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 14, 5:43 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 264
I remembered talk at the time, especially with the LCCs pushing to have intl flights out of 1D, for the shift to happen in the other direction (as it has, to a limited degree, at BOM). But to be fair, the only source I'm seeing now is Wikipedia, so perhaps my memory is hazy.
intltravel90 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 14, 5:44 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 264
Keyser, does your memory differ on this point?
intltravel90 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 14, 6:25 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Delhi, India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 26,060
Originally Posted by intltravel90 View Post
Keyser, does your memory differ on this point?
i recall hearing something about this some time back but it was more chatter than something that was in the pipeline....haven't heard anything on this topic now for a number of years....
Keyser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 14, 9:24 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SEA
Programs: AS 75K, TK ELPL, Hilton Diamond, SPG/Marriott Gold
Posts: 7,203
T3 has very high airport costs relative to T1D - if the LCCs moved, they would be even less competitive on price.
PVDtoDEL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 14, 9:25 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 264
Originally Posted by PVDtoDEL View Post
T3 has very high airport costs relative to T1D - if the LCCs moved, they would be even less competitive on price.
For sure. But why is that? It's the same airport operator, so they're choosing to disincentivize the LCCs from moving to T3. Don't you think they'd benefit from consolidation of services to the larger terminal (as long as it's not over capacity)?
intltravel90 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 14, 9:30 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SEA
Programs: AS 75K, TK ELPL, Hilton Diamond, SPG/Marriott Gold
Posts: 7,203
Originally Posted by intltravel90 View Post
For sure. But why is that? It's the same airport operator, so they're choosing to disincentivize the LCCs from moving to T3. Don't you think they'd benefit from consolidation of services to the larger terminal (as long as it's not over capacity)?
T3 is more expensive to operate, therefore the airport operator charges higher fees. It's not that complicated

This debate is hardly unique to DEL anyway: http://crankyflier.com/2010/07/22/sa...-new-terminal/
PVDtoDEL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 14, 10:02 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 264
Originally Posted by PVDtoDEL View Post
T3 is more expensive to operate, therefore the airport operator charges higher fees. It's not that complicated

This debate is hardly unique to DEL anyway: http://crankyflier.com/2010/07/22/sa...-new-terminal/
Thanks for sharing the article. I agree that the airport operator needs to recoup the costs somehow. I'm simply commenting that if operations were consolidated at T3 (which, in general, has better facilities, etc), then the average costs would come down as the number of players goes up. So yes, IndiGo etc would pay marginally more - but not as much more as it initially seems.
intltravel90 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 14, 10:02 am
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 264
Of course, I'm sure you're correct that they've done the math on it and this doesn't make sense for any individual airline. It's just a question as to whether the operator will want to consolidate.
intltravel90 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 14, 10:11 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SEA
Programs: AS 75K, TK ELPL, Hilton Diamond, SPG/Marriott Gold
Posts: 7,203
Another factor which needs to be kept in mind is space constraints - it's more economical to keep operations in T1D than to expand T3. IGIA is expecting both domestic and international service to increase steadily in the coming years, as India continues to develop and AI continues to add service to its hub.
PVDtoDEL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 14, 10:56 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Programs: Air India Silver Edge, Jet Airways Silver
Posts: 271
It is my understanding that the consortium that manages DEL airport only agreed to pour in money to update T1 after an assurance that LCC's will continue to operate there.

International ops from T1 are held up due to some problem with Customs authorities.
ashishp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 14, 11:16 am
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 264
Originally Posted by PVDtoDEL View Post
Another factor which needs to be kept in mind is space constraints - it's more economical to keep operations in T1D than to expand T3. IGIA is expecting both domestic and international service to increase steadily in the coming years, as India continues to develop and AI continues to add service to its hub.
That makes a lot of sense.
intltravel90 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread