Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Other Loyalty Programs/Partners > iDine/Rewards Network
Reload this Page >

Can one earn miles using a prepaid debit card?

Old Apr 26, 10, 9:23 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP/1MM, DL PM, UA Plat, HH DIA, Hyatt Discoverist, IHG Spire/AMB, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC

I recently recieved a $100 prepaid Visa Debit card and was able to add the number to the Restaurant Rewards website. If I use it at a participating restaurant, will I have any trouble earning miles?
Old Apr 27, 10, 9:50 am
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box

Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
We'll see if anyone has experience with that. IMO (only) if it's registerable, it should fly.
Old Apr 28, 10, 4:19 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA 1K, AC MM E50, SPG P100, Marriott Plat, Fairmont Plat
Yes, it worked for me. I got a Mastercard loaded with $200 from my bank as part of a promotion. I registered the card, and used it for dining, and got the points.
Old May 7, 10, 11:40 pm

Programs: Hilton Gold, SPG & IHG Plat, & every airline program that I can join
FYI
The visa cards from rebates such as Staples Rewards also work when you just need a spend and survey bonus. They are usually for less than $20 and when down to a few bucks you can call in and get a check mailed to you.

JudyJFLA
Old Jun 26, 10, 10:56 am

Programs: ~IHG(p)/BW~Nat'l.Exec~ ~NW(SE)~ ~Cessna~ NASM.do-07 ~AAAF.do-05/06/07/08/09
and a reminder - -

if you find yourself with multiple RN accounts, but not enuf real CCs to go around .. these prepay/debit-card numbers make excellent 'place-holders', even when expired.
Old Jul 8, 10, 10:11 pm

If prepaid debit cards can earn points for purchases, whats preventing people from using prepaid debit cards to purchase prepaid debit cards of the same value (or is there a surcharge associated with purchasing the card?)