How to wake up dormant account

Old May 10, 20, 4:07 am
  #1  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Austin TX
Programs: AA PLT, ICH Plat
Posts: 1,925
How to wake up dormant account

I let my IB account go dormant (I think- zero pts, I probably had a few thousand)

I will need to transfer BA avios to IB account later this month.

I know the transfer will not wake acount up.

How to I wake acount up and afer it is activated, will i be able to immediately transfer from BA?

THANKS
alhcfp is offline  
Old May 11, 20, 1:37 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barcelona, London, on a plane
Programs: BA Gold, TK E+, IB+, VS FC, Hyatt Globalist, MR Plat Prem, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 8,099
Convert some credit card points. Buy Avios directly from IB+. Use the e-store to earn a few Avios.

P.S. You can still move Avios from BA to IB+, but they will immediately expire upon arrival. Be very careful...
craigthemif is offline  
Old May 11, 20, 3:49 am
  #3  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Austin TX
Programs: AA PLT, ICH Plat
Posts: 1,925
Originally Posted by craigthemif View Post
Convert some credit card points. Buy Avios directly from IB+. Use the e-store to earn a few Avios.

P.S. You can still move Avios from BA to IB+, but they will immediately expire upon arrival. Be very careful...

I tried transferring 1,000 AMEX MR, did not work

Are you saying that after I re-activate acount- BA-IB transfers will be lost?
alhcfp is offline  
Old May 11, 20, 3:52 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barcelona, London, on a plane
Programs: BA Gold, TK E+, IB+, VS FC, Hyatt Globalist, MR Plat Prem, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 8,099
Originally Posted by alhcfp View Post
I tried transferring 1,000 AMEX MR, did not work

Are you saying that after I re-activate acount- BA-IB transfers will be lost?
No, but I would wait awhile after reactivating the account.
craigthemif is offline  
Old May 15, 20, 12:30 am
  #5  
Original Member
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Austin TX
Programs: AA PLT, ICH Plat
Posts: 1,925
Originally Posted by alhcfp View Post
I tried transferring 1,000 AMEX MR, did not work
OP here

Took a few days and the AMEX MR points did show in IB account

thanks
alhcfp is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: