Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Iberia Airlines | Iberia Plus
Reload this Page >

Does Iberia have any plans to fly to Washington DC.Have they ever flown this route??

Does Iberia have any plans to fly to Washington DC.Have they ever flown this route??

Old Jul 7, 18, 6:12 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Programs: Avios
Posts: 242
Does Iberia have any plans to fly to Washington DC.Have they ever flown this route??

Just wondering why no flights??
Tilto007 is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 8:00 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barcelona, London, on a plane
Programs: BA Gold, TK E+, IB+, VS FC, Hyatt Globalist, MR Plat Prem, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,035
Why would you expect a flight between MAD and IAD? There is almost no connecting traffic on a Oneworld partner.

IIRC American government employees must fly on an American airline, so there would be very little traffic for IB ex-IAD.
craigthemif is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 8:41 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Programs: Avios
Posts: 242
Originally Posted by craigthemif View Post
Why would you expect a flight between MAD and IAD? There is almost no connecting traffic on a Oneworld partner.

IIRC American government employees must fly on an American airline, so there would be very little traffic for IB ex-IAD.
Well to be honest their are nonstop flights from IAD to most major European cities.I have always considered Madrid a major European destination but maybe I was wrong in thinking this way??
FYI their are nonstops from IAD to the following cities in Europe. London,Paris, Dublin ,Reykjavik, Geneva, Zurich, Vienna, Amsterdam ,Munich, Paris, Brussels and Copenhagen.
Tilto007 is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 8:54 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barcelona, London, on a plane
Programs: BA Gold, TK E+, IB+, VS FC, Hyatt Globalist, MR Plat Prem, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,035
Originally Posted by Tilto007 View Post
Well to be honest their are nonstop flights from IAD to most major European cities.I have always considered Madrid a major European destination but maybe I was wrong in thinking this way??
FYI their are nonstops from IAD to the following cities in Europe. London,Paris, Dublin ,Reykjavik, Geneva, Zurich, Vienna, Amsterdam ,Munich, Paris, Brussels and Copenhagen.
Almost all on UA, who have a hub at IAD. Or Star Alliance at least...

Routes are based on:

1. Business traffic - very little for that route, especially for a foreign carrier
2. Connecting traffic - limited AA options to continue on from IAD
3. Point-to-point viability - MAD isn't much of a tourist hotspot, and DC is of greater interest to Americans than foreigners. But UA does have summer seasonal flights.
craigthemif is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 9:12 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Programs: Avios
Posts: 242
You are right on your points.This is the type of market that could probably be served efficiently by a smaller plane 321LR etc.Let us see what happens in the next few years.
Tilto007 is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 9:57 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MAD
Programs: IB+, BAEC
Posts: 2,405
They did used to fly it and I believe it's up there on possible new destinations, probably behind YYZ, though.

And US government workers need to travel on a flight marketed by a US airline, not operated, so just adding a lot more AA codeshare seats works well enough.

The UA hub argument is true, but they also fly to SFO, I could see an IAD flight working well on a 332.
Tilto007 likes this.
LupineChemist is offline  
Old Jul 7, 18, 3:29 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Francisco
Programs: IB+ Oro, HHonors Diamond, Hertz PC, National EE, Alaska MVP Gold
Posts: 1,241
Originally Posted by craigthemif View Post
Almost all on UA, who have a hub at IAD. Or Star Alliance at least...
And UA does fly IAD-MAD.
Tilto007 likes this.
Yllanes is offline  
Old Jul 10, 18, 11:40 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 166
Originally Posted by LupineChemist View Post
They did used to fly it and I believe it's up there on possible new destinations, probably behind YYZ, though.

And US government workers need to travel on a flight marketed by a US airline, not operated, so just adding a lot more AA codeshare seats works well enough.

The UA hub argument is true, but they also fly to SFO, I could see an IAD flight working well on a 332.

Rumors in the Spanish media suggest that YYZ and PHL are the next North American cities to be added
Cltfc is offline  
Old Jul 10, 18, 2:46 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MAD
Programs: IB+, BAEC
Posts: 2,405
Originally Posted by Cltfc View Post
Rumors in the Spanish media suggest that YYZ and PHL are the next North American cities to be added
PHL is already served via AA. Best to leave AA hub flying to AA and add more capacity elsewhere. I agree with YYZ, though.
LupineChemist is offline  
Old Jul 10, 18, 3:03 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: San Francisco
Programs: IB+ Oro, HHonors Diamond, Hertz PC, National EE, Alaska MVP Gold
Posts: 1,241
I would not mind them adding more frequencies to PHL or CLT, which are the nicest entry ports. However, YYZ makes more sense.
Yllanes is offline  
Old Jul 10, 18, 5:15 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 166
Originally Posted by LupineChemist View Post
PHL is already served via AA. Best to leave AA hub flying to AA and add more capacity elsewhere. I agree with YYZ, though.
PHL would give Iberia access to 120 destinations in North America from the One World Hub so it makes much more sense then IAD. I dont know what will happen but as I indicated previously YYZ and PHL are being suggested as the new destinations by the Travel Media in Spain
Cltfc is offline  
Old Jul 10, 18, 10:54 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MAD
Programs: IB+, BAEC
Posts: 2,405
Originally Posted by Cltfc View Post
PHL would give Iberia access to 120 destinations in North America from the One World Hub so it makes much more sense then IAD. I dont know what will happen but as I indicated previously YYZ and PHL are being suggested as the new destinations by the Travel Media in Spain
They already have that access with AA740/1. That's a big part of how the JV works, they literally get their share of the revenue from the AA flight. It doesn't have to be an IB operated flight for IB to consider it served based on the JV.
LupineChemist is offline  
Old Jul 11, 18, 1:48 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Programs: BA GGL, IB PLATINO, AB GOLD, HH DIAMOND
Posts: 91
Iberia flows in the past to Dullles. I used this route few times.
PLATINOIB is offline  
Old Jul 11, 18, 5:05 am
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Programs: Avios
Posts: 242
Hopefully they will bring this route back someday.maybe with a smaller plane.Many new smaller (200 seat) aircraft types can fly this route efficiently
Tilto007 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: