Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

New layout when searching on hyatt's website

New layout when searching on hyatt's website

Old Nov 15, 22, 7:32 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 246
New layout when searching on hyatt's website

Is anyone else seeing the new layout when you search for a hotel and then click into available rooms? A bunch of photos are haphazardly splashed along the top (don't get me started about what happens when you click the photo gallery button) and an ugly list of all available rooms, listed 4 to a row with one photo each, shows up at the bottom.

Who thought this was an improvement from the previous "tabbed" results list? Ugh.
Daftryan is offline  
Old Nov 15, 22, 7:34 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Programs: AA PlatPro, UA Silver, BA Gold, VS Gold, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 3,304
Originally Posted by Daftryan View Post
Is anyone else seeing the new layout when you search for a hotel and then click into available rooms? A bunch of photos are haphazardly splashed along the top (don't get me started about what happens when you click the photo gallery button) and an ugly list of all available rooms, listed 4 to a row with one photo each, shows up at the bottom.

Who thought this was an improvement from the previous "tabbed" results list? Ugh.
I really hate it.

It's reminiscent of AA's new layout from the start of this year - an absolute mess. Moving to this tile based layout is really user unfriendly. AA's site infuriates me and it seems like Hyatt is going in the same direction.
coleslaw is offline  
Old Nov 15, 22, 7:37 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 246
Originally Posted by coleslaw View Post
I really hate it.

It's reminiscent of AA's new layout from the start of this year - an absolute mess. Moving to this tile based layout is really user unfriendly. AA's site infuriates me and it seems like Hyatt is going in the same direction.
Right? It also means several extra clicks/time to see what's a standard suite or premium suite. Really annoying.
Daftryan is offline  
Old Nov 15, 22, 8:06 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TUS
Programs: AA Ex Plat, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, IHG Platinum, Marriott Gold
Posts: 437
Originally Posted by Daftryan View Post
Is anyone else seeing the new layout when you search for a hotel and then click into available rooms?.
Yes. Its horrible.
dpb132 is offline  
Old Nov 15, 22, 8:06 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TUS
Programs: AA Ex Plat, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, IHG Platinum, Marriott Gold
Posts: 437
Duplicate.
dpb132 is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 12:19 am
  #6  
formerly a193991
Hyatt 5+ BadgeHilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Zulu Romeo Hotel
Programs: Hyatt LT Globalist; LX SEN (*A Gold), AA LTG
Posts: 3,923
no change in layout for me. using Chrome
59Impala is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 5:56 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 314
no change using safari either
sw1x is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 8:04 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Programs: HH Diamond, MR Plat, HY Globule
Posts: 3,119
Sometimes companies roll out new web products by deploying to a few servers and then routing a random portion of traffic to the servers with the new product. Allows them to see how it performs, minimizes impact if there are problems and allows easier backing out of the change if needed. Changes would not normally be browser specific.
wrldwide1 likes this.
xooz is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 1:09 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,296
Atrocious. More clicks and a messier interface to get to the same information. 👎🏽
fly2nrt is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 1:20 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AUS
Programs: AA PPro, BAEC Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Amex Plat
Posts: 5,848
Was not seeing this new layout this morning, but now I'm seeing it and I'm not lovin' it...

Wow... it's really obnoxious...

Regards
scubadu is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 4:20 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 246
I mean the only thing I can think of is Hyatt is moving to dynamic pricing on points like IHG did, and this layout will make it easier to do so?? At least we can all agree it's AWFUL.
Daftryan is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 4:46 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Programs: Hyatt Globalist (Full), Marriott Titanium, IHG Spire, Wyndham DIA, Hilton Gold, AA EXP
Posts: 548
Originally Posted by sw1x View Post
no change using safari either
I see this on safari.
lAzyTraveler is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 5:01 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1K1.75MM, Hyatt Globalist, abandoned Marriott LTT (RIP SPG), Hertz PC
Posts: 20,961
Lets see a screenshot!
59Impala likes this.
UA-NYC is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 5:04 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AUS
Programs: AA PPro, BAEC Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Amex Plat
Posts: 5,848
Originally Posted by UA-NYC View Post
Lets see a screenshot!
I'm too lazy for that, but if you try incognito/private mode on a couple browsers you will likely see it. You don't really notice it until you click on a specific property from the search results.

They are definitely A/B testing with it as I've been using private/incognito mode today and it goes back and forth between the old and the "new"

Regards
scubadu is offline  
Old Nov 16, 22, 6:31 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,741
So so horrible. Please bring back something usable.
olouie is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread