Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

Hotel told my wife I can't earn points because I didn't show up

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 25, 2021, 7:37 am
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott Titanium, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Explorist, Marco Polo Gold

There Hyatt Forum,

I'm new to Hyatt (not to travel, I am Marriott Titanium and Hilton Diamond that stays on average 100-120 nights a year). I am in a situation where I am just curious about Hyatt rules on this. My wife and I were suppose to travel together to a city in China. However, my plane got cancelled and I won't make the stay (we'll meet in another city for another stay). However, when the hotel got informed of this development they told her they will take off my account number and won't give me points since I didn't stay, and if we want something out of it then she would need to apply for a new Hyatt account and earn points that way.

On the one hand I can understand this, no show = no points. So I'm not here to complain about "Hyatt should do better!", so please do not make quick assumptions.

My question is simply on Hyatt culture. I've been in similar situations before with Marriott (I fly at least 200 legs of flights per year, a cancel flight here or there is bound to happen), and Marriott never had an issue crediting the points. Is Hyatt always this strict in enforcing the rules without any considerations? Again, I understand Hyatt wants to protect itself from a member that books all the reservations for people and get all the points, however, this is my wife and obviously a family trip (our child is with her). Just curious about Hyatt culture - is it really strict when it comes to rule enforcement?

I'm new to the chain and thus would like to be informed. Thanks for the reply.

(Ooops: topic should say hotel as in singular not plural) - edit
Old Jan 25, 2021, 7:55 am

Programs: LH, WoH, Bonvoy, ALL, SH-L