FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Hyatt | World of Hyatt (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/hyatt-world-hyatt-418/)
-   -   New To Hyatt.. Is Transferring From Chase UR to Hyatt a good plan? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/hyatt-world-hyatt/2018152-new-hyatt-transferring-chase-ur-hyatt-good-plan.html)

FlyingSloth May 21, 2020 6:24 am

New To Hyatt.. Is Transferring From Chase UR to Hyatt a good plan?

Hi, I'm new to Hyatt entirely. I don't even think I've ever stayed at a Hyatt. But I do need to travel often.. and I saw some interesting cities on their Cat. 1 and Cat. 2 rewards chart. I have 65k Chase UR points. The original plan was to transfer them to United. But with everything that's happened with the pandemic and United putting in place partner dynamic reward pricing a few weeks ago.. I'm thinking Hyatt might be a better option? 65k would be like 13 nights at a Cat 1. hotel.. that seems like pretty good value no? So in my mind, I'm thinking that would be the best place to transfer my UR points since I'll be downgrading the Sapphire card and won't have any way to transfer the points out in the near future. Do you guys agree that Hyatt is a good choice in this case? Just wanted to ask some feedback before proceeding. Thanks! Also, I don't have any specific dates for Hyatt in mind, but I think the points don't expire?

craigthemif May 21, 2020 7:09 am

Hyatt is a good use of UR points.

But it's a personal decision, based on your own preferences and portfolio of miles and points, as to whether you want hotel points or air miles (or even cash back). Especially since post-coronavirus we're probably going to see low air fares and cheaper hotel rooms...

FlyingSloth May 21, 2020 7:40 am

Originally Posted by craigthemif (Post 32392825)
Hyatt is a good use of UR points.