Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

Emotional support dogs and pet fee

Old Feb 17, 20, 5:57 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA MM Gold, AA Ex Plat, SPG Plat,Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Gold, National Executive Elite

I have been traveling with my dog for 5-6 years and have a card. I have always of course registered the dog and every single time no questions asked they waive the fee. In the middle of a Bay Area trip and now just checked into my 3rd Hyatt since Friday at the Hyatt House Emeryville. The front desk guy who was rude from the start asked what purpose does she serve , told him the answer and he says “nope wrong answer” we charge for that. I then asked to speak with the manager and although he finally waived it said that’s the policy and always has been. I guess I have just always been lucky in the past ? From now on it makes no sense if that’s the policy to stay in 3 or 4 different locations in a given week since that is potentially 3 or 4 pet fees
Old Feb 17, 20, 6:13 pm
Hyatt Contributor Badge

Programs: WOH - Globalist, HHonors - Gold, Marriott - Gold
ESA are not service dogs and are not covered under the ADA. If you want to travel with one, you need to pay pet fees.

Under the ADA, unless you can answer the following questions, your dog is not a service animal: (1) is the dog a service animal required because of a disability? and (2) what work or task has the dog been trained to perform?
Old Feb 17, 20, 6:48 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA MM Gold, AA Ex Plat, SPG Plat,Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Gold, National Executive Elite
Originally Posted by sch_flyer View Post
ESA are not service dogs and are not covered under the ADA. If you want to travel with one, you need to pay pet fees.