Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

Is it worth mattress running to Explorist from Discoverist?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 16, 2018, 7:43 pm
Original Poster
Hyatt Contributor Badge

Programs: CX Diamond, AA exExPlat, BAEC exGold, HH Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Starriott Titanium, GE

I'm not really a hotel expert (vis a vis my FFP standings at least) but I've always been a fan of Hyatt and currently am going to be ending my year at 22-23 nights.
This is after a year of staying at wonderful properties like the Centric Tokyo, Andaz SG and a few in China, with PH DC, PH Vienna and HR Kyoto lined up before the year ends.

My question is - would it ever be worth it to mattress run an additional 5 or 6 nights (+ I could arrange 1-2 more nights out of half-need) to get Explorist? Any fellow WoH members notice any difference (or lack of) between Discv and Explorist? I've read across a few places that say Explorist is not worth a single penny extra to organically get; but the difference between (category upgrade excl. suites vs 'preferred room' for Discv) does mean something to me and I often stack it with Virtuoso/Prive/my CX emerald benefits at Hyatt properties. Also I heard some niche-er properties are still stuck in the two-tier HGP mentality of the past and explorists tend to be treated towards the ex-Diamond side?

I have at least 3 properties that I am looking to use my Club awards in 2019 if I make Explorist - Berlin, Taipei and Erawan. I suppose all of these are pretty solid options.
Plus stays at PH Beijing, Vendome and Milan - as explorist, I could use points and still potentially get semi-decent upgrades instead of having to fork full fare and use Virtuoso/Prive?