Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

Globalist Guaranteed Room Availability (NOT)

Old Apr 30, 2017, 3:58 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA platinum, Air France Platinum,, Bonvoy titanium, AC 50k

I have never tried to use this supposed benefit before, but wanted to use it today. I was told that hotels may not release rooms in time of high demand, even to Globalists. What then is the point of this guarantee? I do not need it unless there is high demand and the hotel is sold out.

I don't understand the point of offering a "guarantee" that is not guaranteed!
Old Apr 30, 2017, 4:48 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.035MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CCC Elite+; MSC C-12; CWC Au-197; WoH Dis
Originally Posted by sAAul
Welcome to the wonderful world of hotel loyalty programs.
Dr_wanderlust and IAD_flyer like this.
Old Apr 30, 2017, 6:01 pm
Community Director Emerita

Did you request the room at least 48 hours in advance?

If so, were you told that the hotel had black out dates and what they were?

If yes to the first and no to the second, I'd call and ask for a supervisor.
Attached Images  
Old Apr 30, 2017, 7:44 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA platinum, Air France Platinum,, Bonvoy titanium, AC 50k
Yes, this is for a stay in Ottawa on May 16. I doubt there is any particulr blackout period as rooms are available on the 15th and 17th and I could not find anything special going on then. I was told that individual hotels can choose not to make rooms available.
Old Apr 30, 2017, 8:08 pm

Programs: DL DM MM, Hyatt LT Globalist, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC
I've been denied this benefit a few times in the past due to "extreme demand" with no formal blackout dates in place.
Old Apr 30, 2017, 11:34 pm

Programs: Hyatt Global, Marriot Lifetime Titanium
Originally Posted by Peatisback