FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Hyatt | World of Hyatt (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/hyatt-world-hyatt-418/)
-   -   Andaz Maui REVIEW - MASTER THREAD (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/hyatt-world-hyatt/1499414-andaz-maui-review-master-thread.html)

ma91pmh May 19, 14 2:55 pm


Originally Posted by canyonleo (Post 22890154)
Define "near"

Closest is the Utila reef, immediately in front of the hotel, and there are dozens of shore divers doing that very beginner friendly reef each day. (I only free dive it, but I saw manta rays there "beginner" doesn't mean boring, depending on your luck.

I have a very detailed post upthread about the many reefs as one heads south, many of them just OK for shore diving (but very good for snorkeling).

There are two really nice shore dives further south - Makena Landing (a/k/a Five Caves a/k/a Five Graves, and the Red Hill cave area (hill between Black Sand Beach and Little Beach). Bot of these are quite shallow (don't think I ever made it 35 ft. deep), but very good shore dives with sharks, mantas, spotted eagle rays, and of course lots of turtles and eels.

If "near" includes boat dives, do a trip to Molokini (but only if you are guaranteed to do the outer wall drift dive - inside the crater is too beginner) - lots of nudibranches and the rare shark (possible whale shark with lots of luck). There are also more elaborate boat dives (full day) to Lanai (Pillars and Cathedral) and Molokai (hammerhead dive - check your seasons).

Thanks CanyonLeo this is very helpful. The shallow reefs nearby sound great as we will be with our kids who have just learned to dive and can only go 12m anyway so these sound just right. Add in a couple of boat dives and could be great. The hammerhead point sounds awesome!

canyonleo May 19, 14 3:06 pm


Originally Posted by ma91pmh (Post 22890479)
Thanks CanyonLeo this is very helpful. The shallow reefs nearby sound great as we will be with our kids who have just learned to dive and can only go 12m anyway so these sound just right. Add in a couple of boat dives and could be great. The hammerhead point sounds awesome!

With the kids, I would assume Molokai/hammerhead is not a good choice (or allowed) - but I don't know.

Ulua reef is a perfect dive spot for your family (with newly certified people)!

I might guess that Red Hill is too advanced (can have current) for the family, but Makena is fine (one can snorkel it as easy as diving it, I free dive it all the time).

Both Makena and Ulua have real easy entries and shower facilities. Dive Ulua south to north. Makena is a little trickier, but one dives it from south and hugs shore line (even staying on surface) until one sees the lava tube stretching out seaward.

Boat diving requires driving to Ma'alea early in the morning.

ma91pmh May 20, 14 6:03 am


Originally Posted by canyonleo (Post 22890548)
With the kids, I would assume Molokai/hammerhead is not a good choice (or allowed) - but I don't know.

Ulua reef is a perfect dive spot for your family (with newly certified people)!

I might guess that Red Hill is too advanced (can have current) for the family, but Makena is fine (one can snorkel it as easy as diving it, I free dive it all the time).

Both Makena and Ulua have real easy entries and shower facilities. Dive Ulua south to north. Makena is a little trickier, but one dives it from south and hugs shore line (even staying on surface) until one sees the lava tube stretching out seaward.

Boat diving requires driving to Ma'alea early in the morning.


Sorry yes meant the hammerheads would just be a day trip for mom and dad :)

In short though sounds like there are a lot of nice easy reef options within reasonable distance, which is awesome

canyonleo May 20, 14 11:14 am


Originally Posted by ma91pmh (Post 22893527)
Sorry yes meant the hammerheads would just be a day trip for mom and dad :)

In short though sounds like there are a lot of nice easy reef options within reasonable distance, which is awesome

Maui is one of the best shore diving destination in the world, maybe. There are a number of options in the Kaanapali/north area too. Old Airport Beach (park adjacent to the south of Westin timeshares - not to be confused with Westin Hotel on main Kaanapali Beach) is a shallow reef and maybe the best beginner dive spot on the island. Black Rock (in front of Sheraton Hotel) is an easy dive, too. Honolua in the very north might be the best dive spot on the entire island (but not beginner).

DesertFlier May 22, 14 9:29 pm

Ya, so I wish I could echo the other rave reviews about this property. Unfortunately, after 4 nights, I can't. :(

I cashed in 100,000 points for 4 nights. And, when you do so, they only give you one type of room category for your stay. Garden view. Meh. Still, I figured how bad could it be? I figured even if I wasn't seeing ocean, the resort was supposed to be so fantastic, and the room product so cutting edge, it wouldn't matter.

Well, the reality is it was horrendous. The room was easily the worst of any resort room I have ever seen. Besides not having the same design as other rooms on property, and missing many features and amenities that other rooms have, we had a view of a construction site, or the gardeners shack. The room was smaller than others as well, in addition to being dark and depressing. It was so bad, we called around to either pay a rate at the hotel, or even switch properties. It was THAT miserable.

Anyway, that only set the tone, for the *lack* of service that followed. Apparently guests are supposed to get water bottles on arrival, as I was told by the clerk who escorted me to the room mentioned, though she didn't provide them, and never bothered to follow-up on it. Thanks for letting us know what we're missing. ;) I called hours later when I gave up on her sending them, and someone brought two mini-bottles of water. I figured that was it. ? It wasn't until days later I saw these nifty logo bottles at the pool, inquired at the Front Desk, and ta da - we finally got water bottles! See, you have to chase things when you're in a crapola room on points.

Housekeeping? The day after our first night, they hadn't even come at 2PM. *sigh*. So, we had to call to get the room serviced. Again, you have to chase things when you're in a crapola room on points.

My friend I was traveling with never got an arrival lei, though the front desk had no problem grabbing her credit card when she checked in! We were tired of chasing standard service, so let this one go, as days later, the whole effort loses its aloha.

I get it, I get it, Andaz. Unless you have status, or are paying a rate, your business is irrelevant to the hotel, and you don't even make the radar. After 25 years in the hospitality business, 8 in hotels (including working for Hyatt!), 17 years as a travel buyer and easily having stayed in hundreds upon hundreds of hotels, this without fail, was the most inhospitable, unwelcoming stay I have ever had. From the get-go, we felt like third class guests, and it set such a horrible tone for the weekend, it was hard to shake.

Was the resort gorgeous? Yes. Was the food great? Yes. Was the beach amazing? Yes. Were the pools incredible? Yes.

But did it matter? Not so much after the room/dismissive treatment.

Take-away - stay at the Maui Andaz, but be sure you show up with your Diamond card and paying a tasty rate, otherwise, you'll likely regret your decision.

m0hamed May 22, 14 10:25 pm


Originally Posted by DesertFlier (Post 22910553)
Take-away - stay at the Maui Andaz, but be sure you show up with your Diamond card and paying a tasty rate, otherwise, you'll likely regret your decision.

Are you Diamond? If so why didn't you push the best available room benefit?

suite2suite May 22, 14 11:22 pm


Originally Posted by DesertFlier (Post 22910553)
Ya, so I wish I could echo the other rave reviews about this property. Unfortunately, after 4 nights, I can't. :(

I cashed in 100,000 points for 4 nights. And, when you do so, they only give you one type of room category for your stay. Garden view. Meh. Still, I figured how bad could it be? I figured even if I wasn't seeing ocean, the resort was supposed to be so fantastic, and the room product so cutting edge, it wouldn't matter.

Well, the reality is it was horrendous. The room was easily the worst of any resort room I have ever seen. Besides not having the same design as other rooms on property, and missing many features and amenities that other rooms have, we had a view of a construction site, or the gardeners shack. The room was smaller than others as well, in addition to being dark and depressing. It was so bad, we called around to either pay a rate at the hotel, or even switch properties. It was THAT miserable.

Anyway, that only set the tone, for the *lack* of service that followed. Apparently guests are supposed to get water bottles on arrival, as I was told by the clerk who escorted me to the room mentioned, though she didn't provide them, and never bothered to follow-up on it. Thanks for letting us know what we're missing. ;) I called hours later when I gave up on her sending them, and someone brought two mini-bottles of water. I figured that was it. ? It wasn't until days later I saw these nifty logo bottles at the pool, inquired at the Front Desk, and ta da - we finally got water bottles! See, you have to chase things when you're in a crapola room on points.

Housekeeping? The day after our first night, they hadn't even come at 2PM. *sigh*. So, we had to call to get the room serviced. Again, you have to chase things when you're in a crapola room on points.

My friend I was traveling with never got an arrival lei, though the front desk had no problem grabbing her credit card when she checked in! We were tired of chasing standard service, so let this one go, as days later, the whole effort loses its aloha.

I get it, I get it, Andaz. Unless you have status, or are paying a rate, your business is irrelevant to the hotel, and you don't even make the radar. After 25 years in the hospitality business, 8 in hotels (including working for Hyatt!), 17 years as a travel buyer and easily having stayed in hundreds upon hundreds of hotels, this without fail, was the most inhospitable, unwelcoming stay I have ever had. From the get-go, we felt like third class guests, and it set such a horrible tone for the weekend, it was hard to shake.

Was the resort gorgeous? Yes. Was the food great? Yes. Was the beach amazing? Yes. Were the pools incredible? Yes.

But did it matter? Not so much after the room/dismissive treatment.

Take-away - stay at the Maui Andaz, but be sure you show up with your Diamond card and paying a tasty rate, otherwise, you'll likely regret your decision.


Unless the hotel is 100% sold out you do not have to accept the type of room you just described.

When you use points you pay for the room and there should be no difference in accommodation or service whatsoever. 100,000 points are a lot of points.

You should never feel like a "third class guest" and I know when you come to relax, you don't necessarily want to "chase things" but sometimes you have to.

In our experience with this property,

Has housekeeping been late in making up our room: Yes.
Did our host forget to give us something upon arrival: Yes, the flip-flaps.
Were there errors on our bill: Yes
Did we ever refuse the room/suite that we were originally assigned: Yes.

All can be resolved to one's satisfaction and there is a lot of goodwill among the team members I have come in contact with during our stays.

We've been there twice and will be there again in a couple of months.

Pat89339 May 23, 14 1:07 pm


Originally Posted by suite2suite (Post 22910953)
Did our host forget to give us something upon arrival: Yes, the flip-flaps.

:confused: I've been there three times and have never received flip-flaps.

fireworksboy May 23, 14 4:46 pm

My sister in law just returned from her honeymoon here. She's traveled the world and didn't hesitate to say this was easily one of the best hotels she has ever stayed at. Bar none.

I guess a couple of bottles of water, a lei and the occasional late housekeeping (which some of us actually appreciate as we get a late start while vacationing) does not a vacation make.

IflyfromPHX May 23, 14 11:22 pm

I echo the late-ish housekeeping being a good thing...we would sleep in, go down for a long and leisurely breakfast return and rest....taking our time. Then head down to the pool/beach for the afternoon. By the time we got back to the room - late afternoon it was clean and refreshed.

I would also add that every "little" thing we brought to their attention was taken care of. The key is we spoke up, asked nicely, and thanked them. - not saying that you did not do this.

suite2suite May 24, 14 11:28 am

You'll have a better chance that your room will be made up if you call housekeeping before leaving the room and you may be asked when you plan to be back.
I found that if you're an early riser at that property, housekeeping might be at you door as you are about to leave.

LASUA1K May 25, 14 8:22 pm

Please delete

fishinggal May 25, 14 8:44 pm


Originally Posted by suite2suite (Post 22918500)
You'll have a better chance that your room will be made up if you call housekeeping before leaving the room and you may be asked when you plan to be back.
I found that if you're an early riser at that property, housekeeping might be at you door as you are about to leave.

Housekeeping was fine during our stay. When we checked in they explained that there is a button by the door that you can press when you want to summon housekeeping. If we were going to be out all day we didn't worry about it because they always came by the time we returned, but if we knew we would only be out for a short time and wanted our room serviced we would push the button and they always came before we got back.

JetAway May 26, 14 7:13 am


Originally Posted by LASUA1K (Post 22924227)
The best thing of this hotel is the valet everything else awful!

It takes multiple requests to get anything done here. Room dirty at check in, filthy dirty.

Could you be a little more specific than "everything else is awful"?

fireworksboy May 26, 14 7:55 am


Originally Posted by JetAway (Post 22925889)
Could you be a little more specific than "everything else is awful"?

Yes. Less than helpful post. :td:


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 am.


This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.