Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy REVIEW - MASTER THREAD

Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy REVIEW - MASTER THREAD

Old Nov 8, 12, 12:10 pm
  #1  
No longer used by Hyatt; use World of Hyatt Concierge
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 1,627
Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy REVIEW - MASTER THREAD

Greetings FlyerTalkers,

We are excited to announce the opening for the Hyatt Regency Istanbul Atakoy in 2014! The hotel will offer 310 guestrooms, including 30 suites, with rooms ranging in size from 38 sq m to 180 sq m. The hotel will also feature more than 1700 sq m of meeting and event space, including a 1000 sq m ballroom, two restaurants, a rooftop bar, outdoor and indoor pools, a fitness center and spa.

The Hyatt Regency Istanbul will be located in western Istanbul on Rauf Orbay Street and will be a short drive from the Ataturk International Airport and 10 km from the historic Old Town, which is home to destinations such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, and the Grand Bazaar.

Happy Travels!
Gold Passport Concierge is offline  
Old Nov 8, 12, 1:35 pm
  #2  
thc
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: Hyatt Diamond, AA Platinum
Posts: 931
Wow. Three Hyatts in Istanbul
thc is offline  
Old Nov 8, 12, 4:05 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,842
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.0.4; en-us; DROID RAZR 4G Build/6.7.2-180_DHD-16_M4-31) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Yup...still zero in Madrid, Barcelona, Rome, Athens, Dublin, etc etc...baby steps i guess.
antonius66 is offline  
Old Nov 9, 12, 8:08 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, once-upon-a-time NW Gold, BMI Gold, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Gold
Posts: 6,249
So this will be an 'airport' hotel for IST, eh? Kind of like the Holiday Inn Airport which is 20 mins away.....

Anyway, more is good.
hobo13 is offline  
Old May 14, 14, 7:50 am
  #5  
Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK - the nearest airport is named after a motorway !
Posts: 3,984
website now up

And I have to say it looks pretty nice

Rather a long way out of 'town' and not so good for Asia-side meetings, but nice seaside location, and will likely be cheaper than the GH. And like hobo13 says, more is good
Stewie Mac is offline  
Old May 17, 14, 6:39 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Programs: IC Plat AMB, Hyatt Platinum,
Posts: 287
I think it's actually a pretty good location for Asia side Meetings as the hotel is only minutes away from the IDO Fast Water Bus located. There is no quicker way to get to the Asian side from the European side than that speed ferry! From the website it looks like this hotel will look very similar to the Hilton Bomonti regarding it's interior design.
Mora is offline  
Old Aug 6, 14, 7:50 am
  #7  
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeAman Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,410
Any idea when this hotel will open? All I see is Autum 2014... I have an overnight in Turkey coming up and this might not be a horrible option...

FDW
FlyingDoctorwu is offline  
Old Aug 6, 14, 9:36 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Programs: Hyatt diamond
Posts: 627
Originally Posted by FlyingDoctorwu View Post
Any idea when this hotel will open? All I see is Autum 2014... I have an overnight in Turkey coming up and this might not be a horrible option...

FDW
Who knows.... I was told Sep 15 they'll take reservations.... but for when?
suite2suite is offline  
Old Aug 6, 14, 9:52 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Programs: IC Plat AMB, Hyatt Platinum,
Posts: 287
Mhmm...last time I past the building site was in June and it didn't look any close to beeing finished soon. Website says opening in Autumn of 2014 but St. Regis said the same and opening has now been post-phoned to 2015.
Mora is offline  
Old Sep 10, 14, 7:09 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Programs: M&M SEN, BA GGL, Bonvoy LTT, WoH Explorist
Posts: 926
Hyatt, any news when this hotel will open ? I have some IST trips coming up and would like to consider this hotel.
banzani is offline  
Old Sep 10, 14, 8:00 am
  #11  
Aman Contributor BadgeFour Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,410
Originally Posted by banzani View Post
Hyatt, any news when this hotel will open ? I have some IST trips coming up and would like to consider this hotel.
Last I heard was opening late October/early November....

I've booked the PH for my overnight...

FDW
FlyingDoctorwu is offline  
Old Nov 3, 14, 2:43 am
  #12  
Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK - the nearest airport is named after a motorway !
Posts: 3,984
Website is still saying 'Opening Winter 2014', but I can't make any reservation even well into next year, so I'm guessing that the 2014 part of that is optimistic/incorrect.

GPC, any news on proposed opening?
Stewie Mac is offline  
Old Nov 20, 14, 5:52 am
  #13  
Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK - the nearest airport is named after a motorway !
Posts: 3,984
The homepage now says
Originally Posted by hyatt.com
Now accepting reservations for stays from February 15, 2015 and beyond.
although trying some random dates in Mar/Apr 15 gives a 'hotel not available'

I passed it this week, and it looks like Feb 15 is realistic

Stewie Mac is offline  
Old Nov 20, 14, 8:54 am
  #14  
No longer used by Hyatt; use World of Hyatt Concierge
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 1,627
Good Morning!

It is scheduled to open February 15, 2015.

Thanks
Gold Passport Concierge is offline  
Old Dec 19, 14, 2:40 am
  #15  
Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK - the nearest airport is named after a motorway !
Posts: 3,984
Originally Posted by Gold Passport Concierge View Post
Good Morning!

It is scheduled to open February 15, 2015.

Thanks
Now accepting reservations, and looks to be a chunk cheaper than the GH - on some random midweek dates it's going for eur 139-155 (HDR) vs eur 255 for the GH. Looking forward to trying it out in the New Year...
Stewie Mac is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: