Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hilton | Hilton Honors
Reload this Page >

Strong humming noise in the room..

Strong humming noise in the room..

Old Jan 18, 20, 5:37 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LAX
Posts: 9,261
Strong humming noise in the room..

Got assigned a lower floor room with rather strong humming noise. FD says all sold out nothing else available... any practical way to complain - this is pretty annoying especially since they this ski resort charges many hundreds $/nt (thankfully i am using award nt)..
azepine00 is offline  
Old Jan 18, 20, 9:32 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: San Diego, CA
Programs: Southwest A-List; Alaska MVPG; Hilton Diamond; Avis PreferredPlus
Posts: 354
Did you try making a dummy booking to see if he is telling the truth?
DC9 likes this.
twitch76 is offline  
Old Jan 19, 20, 10:21 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: TXL
Programs: BAEC GGL, Lufthansa SEN, Hilton Diamond, misc other stuff
Posts: 985
I had a similar issue a couple of months ago. To create some evidence I used a 'db meter' app on my phone and showed it to the staff. In this case the noise disappeared the next day. The way the hotel handled the various issues over numerous stays made me change my booking and stay at another property.
In my case I did not expect any compensation so I cannot help with that part.

El_Duderito is offline  
Old Jan 19, 20, 11:50 am
  #4  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: The shape-shifting urban sprawl that is El Lay. FT member #71.
Programs: UA Platinum & MM; AA dirt; Hilton Diamond; Marriott Fool's Gold; & some other useless titles
Posts: 4,478
Curious what app you used? Looks possibly better than the decibel app I have on my Samsung.
Craig6z is offline  
Old Jan 19, 20, 12:16 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, AL
Programs: DL FO 1.4MM, Hilton Diamond, IHG Platinum, Avis CHM.
Posts: 7,169
Originally Posted by Craig6z View Post
Curious what app you used? Looks possibly better than the decibel app I have on my Samsung.
Looks like Decibel X.
DiverDave is offline  
Old Jan 19, 20, 7:53 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LAX
Posts: 9,261
Ended up being tbe most obvious suspect- minifridge - that was pretty hidden.
bitterproffit and DC9 like this.
azepine00 is offline  
Old Jan 21, 20, 7:29 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DCA
Posts: 6,778
Originally Posted by azepine00 View Post
Ended up being tbe most obvious suspect- minifridge - that was pretty hidden.
Yeah, no surprise there. Smart properties have ones that can be turned completely OFF using the temp dial. Those that canít, well they get unplugged by me. A fly on the wall would see me (pretty big guy) heaving and straining to move the 400 lb dresser / TV stand thing to get to the plug.
redpalmetto and neo_781 like this.
arlflyer is offline  
Old Jan 22, 20, 10:28 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA EP, UA Gold-MM, UA 1K (former), GS (former),SPG LT Platinum, Hyatt Diamond, HH Diamond
Posts: 2,216
Originally Posted by arlflyer View Post
Yeah, no surprise there. Smart properties have ones that can be turned completely OFF using the temp dial. Those that canít, well they get unplugged by me. A fly on the wall would see me (pretty big guy) heaving and straining to move the 400 lb dresser / TV stand thing to get to the plug.
I've done that as well! The constant rattling noise drives me crazy.
neo_781 is offline  
Old Jan 22, 20, 9:42 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: AUS
Programs: AA Exec Platinum/MM, DL Silver/MM, Hilton Diamond, Hertz 5* Gold
Posts: 5,826
There is normally a dial inside the unit that you can set to turn it off.
Stripe is offline  
Old Jan 23, 20, 4:16 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DCA
Posts: 6,778
Originally Posted by Stripe View Post
There is normally a dial inside the unit that you can set to turn it off.
Did you not read my post?
arlflyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: