Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hilton | Hilton Honors
Reload this Page >

Consolidated "Best Strategies for Receiving an Upgrade" thread

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 12, 2006, 7:29 pm
Original Poster

Programs: HHonors Silver, SPG Preferred Plus

Wise FT community,

Although I'm somewhat new to this whole scene, I have been obssessively lurking and reading FT posts. One question that I have in regards to Hiltons (maybe it's the same for all hotels) is exactly how to go about securing an upgrade. Assuming I've booked a room from their website that I'd be happy with if I didn't get the upgrade, what is the best move to try for an upgrade? Just ask the front desk? E-mail beforehand? And would the procedure be different if I were a mesely Silver vs. Gold? Obviously I know the chances of success would be different, but I just mean how to go about it (is it even possible for a Silver to score an upgrade?)

I swear that I've done hours of searching on this topic and read probably every post written on it. There are tons of posts about upgrades, but in my experience not many on the actual mechanics. If I've missed something, my apologies. But I know the FT community gets mad when somebody doesn't do their research before asking a question and I just wanted you all to be sure I've done what I can.

Hopefully this question is not out of line or in the wrong place, etc. I would greatly appreciate any responses.

Thank you!
Old Mar 12, 2006, 8:17 pm

Programs: WN Rapid Rewards, DL SkyMiles, UA MileagePlus, HiltonHonors
Originally Posted by UCLA_Tico
One question that I have in regards to Hiltons (maybe it's the same for all hotels) is exactly how to go about securing an upgrade.