Help - Hilton changed my room type

Old Aug 16, 19, 10:41 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 622
Help - Hilton changed my room type

Currently mid Atlantic on way to Florida with family. I have a 2 bed suite booked tonight on International Drive.

Email confirms its a 2 bed suite but when I go to check in online it says its a one bed suite.

Trying to get some sense out of live support but not too helpful.

Any ideas?
kingcole974 is offline  
Old Aug 16, 19, 10:50 am
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,659
Have you tried calling the hotel and talking to a staff member with the title something like front desk supervisor/manager or rooms manager?
DJ_Iceman and Adam1222 like this.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Aug 16, 19, 10:50 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Programs: BAEC Gold, HHonors Diamond, Accor Platinum
Posts: 433
Originally Posted by kingcole974 View Post
Currently mid Atlantic on way to Florida with family. I have a 2 bed suite booked tonight on International Drive.

Email confirms its a 2 bed suite but when I go to check in online it says its a one bed suite.

Trying to get some sense out of live support but not too helpful.

Any ideas?
If you've got the email to show what room type you booked I wouldn't worry, in my experience the easiest solution is to sort it out at the property when you arrive.

The 'My Stay' part of the App can be useful for these sorts of things, though if you've been moved or upgraded it usually shows the new room type.
ab007 is offline  
Old Aug 16, 19, 10:52 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: JFK
Posts: 291
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Have you tried calling the hotel and talking to a staff member with the title something like front desk supervisor/manager or rooms manager?
Yes, do this if you haven't already. We had this happen to us once and they corrected it immediately. Call the hotel.
rsqrott is online now  
Old Aug 16, 19, 10:56 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 622
Can’t call as I’m on a plane! Trying to do what I can online before I arrive. The worry is is that the hotel is totally sold out now. Live support are convinced I have booked a 1 bed. So glad I have the email.

If they have mucked out, will I get much throwback if we just book a different Hilton locally?

Only staying on I drive for one night before we head to South Florida so don’t care where we stay and happy with 2 regular hotel rooms, but won’t accept us all lumped in a one bed suite when we booked 2!
kingcole974 is offline  
Old Aug 16, 19, 11:05 am
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,659
You could try going to the hotel's website (start by pretending that you're trying to book it and look for some contact information as responding to the email confirmation you have probably won't get to a person at the hotel) and email them. Call as soon as you land.

Worst case might be a rollaway bed or sofa bed in the one bed suite the first night and then moving to a suite with two beds the next day.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Aug 16, 19, 11:23 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 622
I will call when we get on the ground. I must say, it’s the first time I’ve ever used the online live chat and it makes me want to jump up and down on my ipad, and then flush it down the loo!
kingcole974 is offline  
Old Aug 16, 19, 11:53 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DCA
Posts: 6,445
Potentially stupid question, but when making the reservation, did you note the number of guests (e.g. using the buttons on the search page)?
arlflyer is offline  
Old Aug 16, 19, 2:20 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 622
Sorted. The 2b suite had an issue and weve been upgraded to adjacent premium 1b suites.

Lesson for me is avoid live chat!

Thanks for the replies
kingcole974 is offline  
Old Aug 16, 19, 2:28 pm
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 42,861
One always does best with an in-person phone call to someone at the property. There are rare occasions where there is no good solution, but they are really rare.
Often1 is online now  
Old Aug 16, 19, 2:41 pm
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,659
Originally Posted by kingcole974 View Post
Sorted. The 2b suite had an issue and we’ve been upgraded to adjacent premium 1b suites.

Lesson for me is avoid live chat!

Thanks for the replies
I hadn't realized that you meant TWO BEDROOM suite and not just a suite with two (twin) beds rather than one king or queen in the bedroom.

Did they disclose whether it was a maintenance issue or just a guest who didn't leave?


:D! likes this.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 12:42 am
  #12  
:D!
Hilton Contributor BadgeIHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Aberdeen, Bella Vista and Croydon
Programs: BA Spire, Hilton *G, A3 Diamond, IHG Silver
Posts: 4,375
Originally Posted by kingcole974 View Post
Sorted. The 2b suite had an issue and weve been upgraded to adjacent premium 1b suites.

Lesson for me is avoid live chat!

Thanks for the replies
Yes, so obviously the live chat is not going to know about a specific problem at a property - but I would have hoped that the hotel would email me if they are going to do something like that.
:D! is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 2:17 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 622
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
I hadn't realized that you meant TWO BEDROOM suite and not just a suite with two (twin) beds rather than one king or queen in the bedroom.

Did they disclose whether it was a maintenance issue or just a guest who didn't leave?


they said there was a pipe burst when affected a couple of rooms. As a bonus, at check in I must told I was guest of the day, got to spin a wheel and won 7000 Hilton Points. I was then offered a parking place with my name, as guest of the day written on it! On,y in America!

A further bonus is I shall have 2 nights rather than one credited as I now have two rooms

yes, I booked a 2 bedroomed (with one king and 2 doubles) not a regular room with 2 beds
tynmar likes this.
kingcole974 is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 2:56 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 813
Not related at all to your question, but if you have kids, try the Uno's pizza place down the road. Excellent pizza!
TravelingNomads is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 3:32 am
  #15  
cjd
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 2,262
Originally Posted by kingcole974 View Post


they said there was a pipe burst when affected a couple of rooms. As a bonus, at check in I must told I was guest of the day, got to spin a wheel and won 7000 Hilton Points. I was then offered a parking place with my name, as guest of the day written on it! On,y in America!

A further bonus is I shall have 2 nights rather than one credited as I now have two rooms

yes, I booked a 2 bedroomed (with one king and 2 doubles) not a regular room with 2 beds
Good resolution to the problem, but would have been nice for them to let you know. If you're only staying for one night, even with two rooms, it only counts as one stay and one night. Having said that, on a couple of occasions, I have wrongly been granted the 2 nights, but that's not in line with the rules. You may be lucky! Enjoy the rest of your holiday.
cjd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread