Wiki Posts
Search

Dropping the car off at SFO

Search this Thread

Old Aug 26, 2009, 2:26 am
Original Poster

Programs: AAdvantage, MileagePlus, SkyMiles
Dropping the car off at SFO

I currently have a weekly rental one way dropping off at SFO. I'm a bit nervous driving in the Bay Area, but I can handle it. Any tips? Are the staff there nice? What exactly do I do when I drop off the car - just park it in an available space and go inside and check in?

In case you can't tell, I'm a total newbie to this whole car renting thing
Old Aug 26, 2009, 5:48 am

I've been to the Bay Area twice. My tips:

The electronic toll collection system, FasTrak, is not interoperable with EZPass. I don't know where you're coming from, but if it's an East Coast car don't forget that the EZPass box won't help you in CA.

The traffic can be bad, as with any large metropolitan area.

Stay out of the HOV/Bus lane.

Make sure you know what roads to take. There are interstate and other road signs all over the place, but it can sometimes seem like a merging maze.

I didn't rent from SFO, so I couldn't comment on the customer service skills of the staff. I can tell you, however, that there will be signs all over the place saying "Rental Car Return." Coming back to SFO by bus at night for my flight home the first time, I saw some confused people driving a barcode-stickered car with AZ plates into that lot, so the signs seemed pretty clear and well-lit. I obviously wouldn't know at what time you plan to arrive.
Old Aug 26, 2009, 7:00 am

Programs: UA 1K 2MM; QF 1P; DJ WP; CX DIA, EK GL, HH DIAMOND; PC Spire RA; SPG PLAT; HERTZ PC; Avis CC
Originally Posted by Andy1369
I currently have a weekly rental one way dropping off at SFO. I'm a bit nervous driving in the Bay Area, but I can handle it. Any tips? Are the staff there nice? What exactly do I do when I drop off the car - just park it in an available space and go inside and check in?