President's circle and NYC

Old Jun 15, 20, 12:03 pm
Original Poster

Programs: SPG LT Gold, DL DM360 1MM
NYC question

Hi all,
Pretty noob here with Hertz so apologies for asking the basics, I did look up some of the threads on what to get but my question has multiple parts to it, and I have no experience with Hertz.
Looking to book a car for 1 week (6/30-7/6), I'm PC (Delta DM), and have a good corporate rate ($386) for a Full-Size, pick-up in Manhattan (most convenient by far vs. LGA/JFK)
- what is my best strategy if I want to get to a large SUV or a prestige car without booking full price up front (that's out of my budget, and I want to utilize my PC and Corporate rate); I'm willing to pay extra for the upgrade on the day of but not full price
- should I consider LGA/JFK to enhance my upgrade options?
- can I switch locations within Manhattan after reservation to optimize my upgrade options?

To give an example; I booked a medium with National last week and got a Range Rover for $52/day extra; I'm trying to sort out if I should go back to them or give Hertz a try for this one given Hertz is cheaper on the corporate rate.

Thanks a ton in advance!
Old Jun 15, 20, 12:31 pm
Company Representative - Autoslash

If you reserved a fullsize car, you will likely get a full-size car. If they are feeling generous they might give you a premium car or maybe a standard SUV or similar. There is no ultimate choice like there is at the major NYC airports. Upgrades are somewhat discretionary, and doubly so on a holiday week like that.

The likelihood of you getting a large SUV or something higher than a premium car on a cheap FCAR rate is extremely small. You'll definitely have better luck at one of the area airports, but even then, it really depends on how you hit it. You can always sit around for a while and wait for them to stock something decent in the PC section, or ask politely, but it's still very much a YMMV situation.