Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Hawaii
Reload this Page >

Big Island in December - Questions and Recommendations

Old May 2, 2018, 7:24 pm
Original Poster

I'm planning a week-long trip to The Big Island in December and it's my first time on the island. I would really appreciate some help with planning our itinerary.

I've been to HI before; I had an ex-girlfriend who lived in Maui and I stayed with her for a few weeks some ten years ago and had a fantastic time. I was really surprised by the diversity of the landscape and the varied and unique character of the different areas of the island we explored. It was absolutely necessary to rent a car for that experience and I'm wondering if Big Island is similar.

The base of our trip is going to be spent at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel in Waimea, which I've booked for 6 nights. I know very little about the area but the beachfront looks picturesque and I love the mid-century modern architecture and the thoughtful design of the landmark property.

While we're looking forward to days of relaxation and tropic tranquility, we also want to get out and explore the island. Would it be worth booking a night or two on the southern end of the island?

When I was driving along the Hana Highway years ago, I really wished that we had stayed overnight at the Travaasa, which would have afforded us so much more time to explore the eastern end of Maui. Would you suggest a similar approach to exploring the Big Island? I've got two potential overnight inns on my radar: W.H. Shipman House in Hilo and the Volcano Teapot Cottage in historic Volcano Village.