SYD to OGG using miles

Old Mar 7, 17, 9:32 pm
Original Poster

SYD to OGG using miles

Hi, I'm trying to book a RT ticket for my daughter to fly from SYD to OGG roundtrip from April 3rd to 9th or 10th. Does anyone have any ideas what frequent flyer programs would be best for that route? I'm not experienced using the different alliances but have miles in many FF programs as well as Chase Ultimate Rewards and AMEX Membership Rewards. Thank you so much for any advice.
Old Mar 7, 17, 9:45 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Originally Posted by vikesfan10 View Post
Hi, I'm trying to book a RT ticket for my daughter to fly from SYD to OGG roundtrip from April 3rd to 9th or 10th. Does anyone have any ideas what frequent flyer programs would be best for that route? I'm not experienced using the different alliances but have miles in many FF programs as well as Chase Ultimate Rewards and AMEX Membership Rewards. Thank you so much for any advice.
You may or may not have much choice. You should first investigate which, if any, FFPs have award seats available on the desired dates of travel, and at what rates. Also check to determine the lowest-tier cash ticket: in some instances, redeeming your points for a cash ticket might be the cheapest option.

If cash fares are too high, report back about the award availability you found, and we can then make recommendations as to which program(s) you should redeem from for particular flights. Note that several programs offer one-way awards, so if you find an outbound award on united.com and an inbound award on delta.com, that might work too.
Old Mar 8, 17, 12:16 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: Berlin, Germany; Toronto, Canada; and SW Florida, USA
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Globalist, and assorted others