Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Germany
Reload this Page >

Does a DB-issued City Ticket cover S-Bahn travel to/from STR?

Does a DB-issued City Ticket cover S-Bahn travel to/from STR?

Old Dec 16, 19, 10:18 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: BAGold,AA3MMPlat,UA1MMGold,FBSilver,MarriottAmb,AccorPlat,HHGold,ICPlatAmb, HyattDiscoverist
Posts: 4,370
Does a DB-issued City Ticket cover S-Bahn travel to/from STR?

Iím flying into STR and bought a Flexible (in case the plane is late) train ticket to Baden-Baden, which includes City Tickets on both ends. Will it cover an S-Bahn ride between STR and the Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof?
rfrost is offline  
Old Dec 16, 19, 10:20 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 146
yes

5 char min
R.O. is offline  
Old Dec 16, 19, 12:32 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: BAGold,AA3MMPlat,UA1MMGold,FBSilver,MarriottAmb,AccorPlat,HHGold,ICPlatAmb, HyattDiscoverist
Posts: 4,370
Great, thanks!

If I miss the train on which Iím ticketed, can I just board the next one, or do I need to be reticketed?

Last edited by rfrost; Dec 16, 19 at 12:56 pm
rfrost is offline  
Old Dec 16, 19, 1:42 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Programs: DL DM/1.9MM
Posts: 317
Originally Posted by rfrost View Post
Great, thanks!

If I miss the train on which Iím ticketed, can I just board the next one, or do I need to be reticketed?
This depends on what type of ticket you got. If it says 'Normalpreis' then yes, if you got some of the Sparpreis type of tickets, then no.
cygnus is offline  
Old Dec 16, 19, 1:52 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 146
Normalpreis was renamed Flexpreis a few years ago.

No need to get reticketed. If you have a seat reservation (which DB treats as separate from the ticket), you might wanna change it, though. You don't have to, though. With DB, you may take any seat which isn't taken. The seat reservation comes in handy only when the train is busy.

Full disclosure: Personally, I don't do seat reservations at all when riding with DB. But many others prefer to travel with a seat assignment..

EDIT: Note that you may change your advanced seat reservation once free of charge. Takes about 3 min in the Android/iOS app DB Navigator. Obv, it's only worthwhile doing so if the train you're switching to is fairly busy.

EDIT2: Also note that if you happen to arrive at Stuttgart Hbf early, you may also board an earlier train than the one shown in the plan on your Flexpreis ticket.

Last edited by R.O.; Dec 17, 19 at 3:11 am
R.O. is offline  
Old Dec 16, 19, 4:24 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: BAGold,AA3MMPlat,UA1MMGold,FBSilver,MarriottAmb,AccorPlat,HHGold,ICPlatAmb, HyattDiscoverist
Posts: 4,370
Thanks so much. I DO have a seat reservation (DB said the train will be busy) but if the timing is tight, I will just hop on the next train and take my chances on finding an empty seat.
rfrost is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: