Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Germany
Reload this Page >

ICE Train Frankfurt to Cologne, book by phone only?

ICE Train Frankfurt to Cologne, book by phone only?

Old Feb 20, 19, 7:25 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: CRK MNL
Programs: CX MPC Silver
Posts: 929
ICE Train Frankfurt to Cologne, book by phone only?

I am trying to book train tickets for my trip in April. But the ICE trains can only be booked by phone, only the slower IC trains can be booked online.
Will the ICE trains eventually be bookable online?
boybi is online now  
Old Feb 20, 19, 7:41 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: BNA (Nashville)
Programs: HH Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,937
I just tried a dummy booking on bahn.com (redirects to bahn.de) for Frankfurt (Main) Hbf to Köln Hbf on May 15 and the first suggestion was an ICE train. I took it all the way to the payment page. Also Frankfurt (Main) Flughafen.

I have booked this online from the US a few times. Usually 90 days out is fine.

Not sure why you aren't seeing it.
bitterproffit is offline  
Old Feb 20, 19, 8:49 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: CRK MNL
Programs: CX MPC Silver
Posts: 929
I can see the train schedules, but it says: ONLINE NOT AVAILABLE, BOOK BY PHONE.
boybi is online now  
Old Feb 20, 19, 9:45 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LAX
Programs: Fallen DL DM (PM) 2MM
Posts: 4,632
I've booked ICE's along the Köln - Frankfurt (usually between Düsseldorf and Würzburg) stretch online probably over 20 times without an issue -- from the US.

Are you using the German or English site (or another language). And it is a silly thing but are you sure you are booking for April? I've messed up dates before and I could see a close in booking requiring a phone call.

The last thing I can think of is maybe it is tied to your location. If you are not in the US/Canada or EU do you have access to a VPN with (say) a US/EU endpoint so that DB thinks that is where you are?
TheMadBrewer is offline  
Old Feb 21, 19, 1:29 am
  #5  
Hilton 5+ BadgeAccor 10+ Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rhineland-Palatinate
Programs: OW Ruby (BA), *A Gold (A3), Le Club Accor Gold, HHonor Diamond
Posts: 2,673
This should work, I do this all the time and never saw the Book by phone message.
On which website are you doing the booking ? Also please check your date and ensure this is not April 2020 ?
If the website is this one: https://www.bahn.com/en/view/index.shtml Could you please describe the steps you are going through ?
fransknorge is offline  
Old Feb 21, 19, 3:36 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: CRK MNL
Programs: CX MPC Silver
Posts: 929
boybi is online now  
Old Feb 21, 19, 3:37 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: CRK MNL
Programs: CX MPC Silver
Posts: 929
That is the site I’m trying to book from
boybi is online now  
Old Feb 21, 19, 5:36 am
  #8  
Accor 10+ BadgeHilton 5+ Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rhineland-Palatinate
Programs: OW Ruby (BA), *A Gold (A3), Le Club Accor Gold, HHonor Diamond
Posts: 2,673
This is the website of the Dutsch train company, not the German one. It can book international trip if they originate or depart in Netherland, but not domestic German trips.

Please try from the official Deutsche Bahn site: https://www.bahn.com/en/view/index.shtml

You can choose English language in the top right.
boybi and offerendum like this.
fransknorge is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 12:47 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: CRK MNL
Programs: CX MPC Silver
Posts: 929
Originally Posted by fransknorge View Post
This is the website of the Dutsch train company, not the German one. It can book international trip if they originate or depart in Netherland, but not domestic German trips.

Please try from the official Deutsche Bahn site: https://www.bahn.com/en/view/index.shtml

You can choose English language in the top right.
Thank you. I've been looking at the wrong site all along.

Anyway, for my trip from Frankfurt to Cologne, which station should I select, Frankfurt(Main)Hbf or FRANKFURT(MAIN)? I want a non-stop train. Thanks.
boybi is online now  
Old Feb 22, 19, 12:49 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, SW Florida, and Toronto
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Discovery Black, and assorted others
Posts: 25,457
It's the same station (bad coding). Just select Hbf, which means main train station. The word Main, incidentally, refers to the river that Frankfurt is located on.
boybi and offerendum like this.
LondonElite is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 1:00 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: CRK MNL
Programs: CX MPC Silver
Posts: 929
Originally Posted by LondonElite View Post
It's the same station (bad coding). Just select Hbf, which means main train station. The word Main, incidentally, refers to the river that Frankfurt is located on.
How about for my destination of Cologne, which station should I select: Colonia(Köln) or COLOGNE? I want to get off at the station beside the Cologne Cathedral. Thanks.
boybi is online now  
Old Feb 22, 19, 1:09 am
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, SW Florida, and Toronto
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Discovery Black, and assorted others
Posts: 25,457
Again, same thing. You should see Köln (Hbf) as an additional drop-down.
offerendum likes this.
LondonElite is offline  
Old Feb 22, 19, 2:00 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: CRK MNL
Programs: CX MPC Silver
Posts: 929
Thank again. The website is so confusing. I'm afraid I might go to a different station
boybi is online now  
Old Feb 22, 19, 2:21 am
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: CRK MNL
Programs: CX MPC Silver
Posts: 929
Looks like there are no more seats for a direct train from Frankfurt to Koln Hbf. All options will need a train change at Koln Messe/Deutz. I will just have a few hours stopover in Cologne, and then onwards to Amsterdam.

How easy is it to make the transfer at Koln Messe/Deutz station for 2 passengers with 2-3 luggages? What should be the minimum connecting time to allot for the transfer?
boybi is online now  
Old Feb 22, 19, 2:32 am
  #15  
Accor 10+ BadgeHilton 5+ Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rhineland-Palatinate
Programs: OW Ruby (BA), *A Gold (A3), Le Club Accor Gold, HHonor Diamond
Posts: 2,673
It is easy to transfer there, the ICE line is on the ground floor while the S-Bahn line is elevated, there is a flight of stairs to take. If I remember well there is also a lift.
fransknorge is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: