Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Germany
Reload this Page >

German employer - keep business related miles?

Old Aug 6, 2010, 6:25 am
Original Poster

Programs: LH, AB, SPG, CC, Sixt, EC

Hey there!

This is a question for those working in Germany. (working anywhere else may of course contribute as well, please just indicate)

Does your employer allow you to keep the (award) miles that you earn on flights that you do for business? How about hotel stays, rental car miles, etc.?

I know that theoretically those miles would basically increase your gross income, leading to a higher tax and social welfare obligations.

How do your employers handle that? Do some "not care" and hope to get away with it? Do they not allow you to use these miles for private travel at all? Do some even wish to separate the accounts (business / private) so you don't even profit from the status miles?

I am currently a student, so my miles are my miles but I start to work soon and my soon to be employer insists that I sign a "Abtretungserklrung" (= declaration of assignment), allowing them to use miles earned for business for business travel.
Old Aug 6, 2010, 12:36 pm

Programs: Miles&More Blue, SPG Silver
We can keep the miles, points, etc.. I think no one at our company cares about what you do with them.

Still it is the company's right to take your miles (they are not really your miles since the company payed for them) to use them for business travel. I even think Lufthansa has a program for companies where automatically miles earned by company employees go into a company account. I would say you are out of luck.
Old Aug 6, 2010, 12:46 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by caspritz78
We can keep the miles, points, etc.. I think no one at our company cares about what you do with them.