Realistic changeover time for catching DEN-ASE flight?

Old Jan 21, 09, 10:18 am
Original Poster

Programs: BA Blue
Realistic changeover time for catching DEN-ASE flight?

Hi,

This is my first time in the Frontier forum (I'm a BAEC member). Thank you in advance for your patience if this issue has been addressed previously.

My family has been looking into a trip to Aspen, originating in Philly.

The Frontier website and also a reputable ski packaging company offer me just a single itinerary:

F9 447 PHL-DEN; F9 3077 DEN-ASE

F9 3078 ASE-DEN; F9 444 DEN-PHL

Outbound there is only an hour between flights in Denver, while coming home its down to 36 minutes! Weather can obviously be an issue, but that aside, is the changeover time being offered at all realistic? Or is an itinerary like this just asking for trouble?

Many, many thanks for sharing your expertise and experience.
Old Jan 21, 09, 1:11 pm

Programs: UA Premier
Shouldn't be a problem barring weather problems or other delays. All the flights are on the A concourse. Even if you had to go one end to the next, it's at most a 15 minute walk.
Old Jan 21, 09, 1:52 pm

Programs: DL-Dirt Medallion;US-Cast Iron Preferred; HH-Gold; Avis First
For me, a lot would depend on whether there were decent backup options in the next few hours. If these are the last or only flights of the day, then I would be hesitant. Going, it seems worst case is getting a one-way rental and driving 4 hours. Consider reserving a car, if you don't need it you only out the time you spent reserving it. Coming home, it comes down to the other flight options. If there is a later DEN-PHL, I would book that, and maybe aim for standby on the earlier if you make it in time.
Old Jan 22, 09, 1:19 am

No worries!! You should have plenty of time as long as everything is running near to ontime. The A concourse at DIA is relatively small and easy to get from one end to another. I've done it end to end at a leisurely pace in about 20 minutes.