Huge queues CDG T1

Old Dec 15, 16, 2:11 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: IL
Programs: UA Plat, DL Silver, Hertz PC, Avis Pref+, Accor Silver
Posts: 956
Huge queues CDG T1

Not letting people up the escalators to passport control.

I've been up there, queues snaking all around the floor. Looks like a two hour queue...

If course, no-one knows what is going on...

Thank YOU, CDG
dand99 is offline  
Old Dec 16, 16, 1:56 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seat 1A, Juice pretty much everywhere, Mucci des Coins Exotiques
Posts: 31,351
In the AF forum here people have been discussing the immigration problem at T2 for a while now so there seems to be a serious issue. Personally I will be flying into one of the secondary cities in France such as LYS and make sure I avoid CDG. Perhaps ORY would be better than CDG if you need to go to Paris?
stimpy is offline  
Old Dec 16, 16, 7:22 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Paris, France
Programs: United, TAP Victoria, AVIOS
Posts: 458
On more than one occasion, I have spent over 1 hour in just the passport control line of Terminal 1 at CDG. I always allow 2 to 3 hours processing time when flying out of CDG.
Tamino is offline  
Old Dec 16, 16, 12:11 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, UA Mileage plus, Le Club Accorhotels platinum
Posts: 13,933
Originally Posted by stimpy View Post
In the AF forum here people have been discussing the immigration problem at T2 for a while now so there seems to be a serious issue. Personally I will be flying into one of the secondary cities in France such as LYS and make sure I avoid CDG. Perhaps ORY would be better than CDG if you need to go to Paris?
I flew to LYS recently from AMS and the experience was not better. Normally no passport control arriving from Schengen, but we got one. Only one booth open. It took forever (>30 min)
Goldorak is online now  
Old Dec 16, 16, 1:06 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seat 1A, Juice pretty much everywhere, Mucci des Coins Exotiques
Posts: 31,351
Originally Posted by Goldorak View Post
I flew to LYS recently from AMS and the experience was not better. Normally no passport control arriving from Schengen, but we got one. Only one booth open. It took forever (>30 min)
I fly to LYS often and there is rarely a queue more than 20 minutes on the inbound. However even if it is 20-30 minutes, it's better than 2 hours!
stimpy is offline  
Old Dec 18, 16, 9:22 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Turkey
Programs: Miles and Smiles Elite Plus
Posts: 183
October 2016 I spent nearly 1.5 hours on exit queue. It is people exiting a country, how hard is it to put a stamp on a passport.

Unfortunately I got stuck on trains, had to wait in queues for hours etc way too many times in France. There seems to be some sort of strike or slow down at any given moment in some area of public life.
tcmb99 is offline  
Old Dec 20, 16, 8:23 pm
  #7  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Programs: A3*G, UA*S, MR PPE, HHonors Gold, Carlson Gold, NEXUS
Posts: 3,495
This thread really reassures me about my 4h30 (YYZ-)CDG T2A -> Montparnasse connection on 1/1
pewpew is offline  
Old Dec 24, 16, 2:35 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: IL
Programs: UA Plat, DL Silver, Hertz PC, Avis Pref+, Accor Silver
Posts: 956
Eventually took about two hours in total. Horrible.

GAs from various airlines would walk around shouting for people from X flight to go to the front of the queue. Unfortunately, they would do so in select (random ?) areas so not everyone got the message. The delay may have had something to do with the border control computers (or not) and a border police "semi-strike" (or not) - no-one bothered to let the pax know.

I turned up to queue and asked the "gate minder" where F1 access was. I was told there was none and that everyone was queuing together. an hour later, having queued my way across part of the line I saw that F1 access was on the other side of the queue

Amazingly, the flight managed to leave with minimal delay. I think that at some point the queues died down.

Originally Posted by dand99 View Post
Not letting people up the escalators to passport control.

I've been up there, queues snaking all around the floor. Looks like a two hour queue...

If course, no-one knows what is going on...

Thank YOU, CDG
dand99 is offline  
Old Jan 2, 17, 6:45 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Getting in and out at T1 was a nightmare when we were there last month. Three booths for arriving, two for departure. Even the EU passport holders were backed up and getting pissy.
Bricktop is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread