Will my plane have working WiFi?

Old Nov 18, 22, 7:55 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo, TK Elite, AA, BA, SK, DL, NT, WB + hotels
Posts: 8,174
Will my plane have working WiFi?

As WiFi problems seem more and more common, I suggest we start reporting non-working WiFi here in an easy-to-read way. Should be helpful to those who end up on the same plane later – and hopefully we also receive reports of WiFi having been fixed on planes where it didn’t work in the past.

(Just a reminder: Embraer and ATR aircraft do not have WiFi installed at all.)

So here we go:

15NOV22
A350 OH-LWC no WiFi

18NOV22
A320 OH-LXL no WiFi
Venezuela-Miami and intuition like this.
ffay005 is offline  
Old Nov 18, 22, 8:00 am
  #2  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland / Estonia
Programs: AY+ Platinum, BAEC Silver, HH Diamond, Nordic Choice Hotels Silver, IHG Diamond Elite, Avis PP
Posts: 6,378
03NOV22
A350 OH-LWS no wifi during 90% of flight.
rt23456p likes this.
florens is offline  
Old Nov 18, 22, 12:29 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Programs: HappinesSMiles Silver
Posts: 459
Originally Posted by ffay005
15NOV22
A350 OH-LWC no WiFi
On 16th wifi working well!
ffay005 likes this.
avermat is offline  
Old Nov 19, 22, 2:49 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo, TK Elite, AA, BA, SK, DL, NT, WB + hotels
Posts: 8,174
Originally Posted by avermat
On 16th wifi working well!
It's good to hear that they fix these. (OTOH, Intuition suggested in another thread that the malfunction was actually due to crew not handling the system in the right way, so that should be an easy fix.)
ffay005 is offline  
Old Nov 20, 22, 7:17 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 39
OH-LZI no WiFi. Supposedly the problem has existed for a few days already on this plane. Not impressed.

Cheers,

Tseta
Tseta is offline  
Old Nov 28, 22, 10:19 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo, TK Elite, AA, BA, SK, DL, NT, WB + hotels
Posts: 8,174
Flying OH-LZG (A32B) to LPA tomorrow, hoping to have wifi on this long flight. Does anyone have recent experience? By the way, do all A32B have USB ports?
ffay005 is offline  
Old Nov 28, 22, 10:40 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: HEL
Programs: AY+ Platinum (OWE), Accor Gold, Hilton Honors Gold
Posts: 2,943
Originally Posted by ffay005
Flying OH-LZG (A32B) to LPA tomorrow, hoping to have wifi on this long flight. Does anyone have recent experience? By the way, do all A32B have USB ports?
None have USB ports!
florens, esledo and FFlash like this.
lkrt is online now  
Old Nov 28, 22, 11:41 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo, TK Elite, AA, BA, SK, DL, NT, WB + hotels
Posts: 8,174
They don't? I thought the newer once have ports below the monitors.... But hey, there are no monitors! Mixing it up with TK!
ffay005 is offline  
Old Jan 4, 23, 4:23 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo, TK Elite, AA, BA, SK, DL, NT, WB + hotels
Posts: 8,174
OH-LVK yesterday, flying ARN-HEL. No wifi. The wifi seemed up and running, but it claimed we were going to OSL and did not recognize my name & seat number. Never had this one before.
ffay005 is offline  
Old Jan 10, 23, 1:58 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2022
Programs: AY Plat
Posts: 9
OH-LWD yesterday BKK-HEL no wifi at all (got an email before though).
lauritus is offline  
Old Jan 14, 23, 4:39 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo, TK Elite, AA, BA, SK, DL, NT, WB + hotels
Posts: 8,174
OH-LXI to Stockholm. On the ground, the portal had a warning that WiFi will not work due to technical problems. However, once in the air, it works normally.

I have never seen such a warning before. While I appreciate it as such, it doesnt help much if it is untrue.
ffay005 is offline  
Old Jan 14, 23, 5:42 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: HEL
Programs: AY+ Platinum (OWE), Accor Gold, Hilton Honors Gold
Posts: 2,943
Originally Posted by ffay005
OH-LXI to Stockholm. On the ground, the portal had a warning that WiFi will not work due to technical problems. However, once in the air, it works normally.

I have never seen such a warning before. While I appreciate it as such, it doesnt help much if it is untrue.
The portal had indeed been overhauled and showed that message as well on my todays flight. The portal updates itself to show the route details and get internet working as soon as the landing gear is detached from the ground, as before.
lkrt is online now  
Old Jan 14, 23, 5:46 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo, TK Elite, AA, BA, SK, DL, NT, WB + hotels
Posts: 8,174
Thats sort of what I tried to deduce, too. They should have a better wording. WiFi will be available once we are airborne
ffay005 is offline  
Old Jan 30, 23, 5:02 am
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo, TK Elite, AA, BA, SK, DL, NT, WB + hotels
Posts: 8,174
OH-LTN has no wifi (29JAN and 30JAN). And no IFE either.
ffay005 is offline  
Old Jan 30, 23, 5:11 am
  #15  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland / Estonia
Programs: AY+ Platinum, BAEC Silver, HH Diamond, Nordic Choice Hotels Silver, IHG Diamond Elite, Avis PP
Posts: 6,378
Friend flew on OH-LWA. No internet, no IFE on HKG-HEL.
florens is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.