Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Finnair | Finnair Plus
Reload this Page >

Finnair newbie questions thread (flame-free)

Finnair newbie questions thread (flame-free)

Reply

Old Jan 27, 18, 5:55 am
  #1036  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: BLL
Programs: AY+ Platinum, SK Gold, HHonors Silver
Posts: 397
Originally Posted by miamiflyer8 View Post
You will need to go thru security in any case if arriving from DOH, immigration too if connecting to a Schengen country.
Indeed, but not customs and back through departures hall so you will stay airside. 2 hours is no problem.
CeruleanBlue is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 18, 8:02 am
  #1037  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: HEL
Programs: BA Gold, OZ Diamond, LH Silver
Posts: 186
Originally Posted by CeruleanBlue View Post
Indeed, but not customs and back through departures hall so you will stay airside. 2 hours is no problem.
Depending on the arrival time and gate there is also a Non-Schengen to Schengen transfer route that takes one through immiration downstairs and then upstairs to security control in the main departure hall. As this particular QR flight arrives outside Finnair arrival waves it is very much possible that the main transfer security control is closed and they guide connecting (all) passengers downstairs. One can then choose to do either security control or passport control first. Anyway, one must go through both security and passport control. And of course customs too, no chance to not go through customs when entering Schengen.
haapalainen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 18, 8:34 am
  #1038  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HEL
Programs: AY Gold, but ask me again in May :), AA, BA, SK, DL, NT + hotels
Posts: 3,270
Originally Posted by miamiflyer8 View Post
You will need to go thru security in any case if arriving from DOH, immigration too if connecting to a Schengen country.
This meaning that you must have a boarding pass in hand before going through transfer security.
ffay005 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 18, 8:51 am
  #1039  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Programs: TK E+, BA Gold, HH Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 701
Originally Posted by haapalainen View Post
And of course customs too, no chance to not go through customs when entering Schengen.
This is ......... One goes through customs at their final destination - otherwise it would be hard to declare something in ones baggage.

Schengen does also have nothing to do with customs as there are countries in the eu customs union that are not part of schengen, like the uk.
duvin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 18, 9:28 am
  #1040  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: HEL
Programs: BA Gold, OZ Diamond, LH Silver
Posts: 186
Originally Posted by duvin View Post


This is ......... One goes through customs at their final destination - otherwise it would be hard to declare something in ones baggage.

Schengen does also have nothing to do with customs as there are countries in the eu customs union that are not part of schengen, like the uk.
You do make a point here, thanks for correction. I still argue that physically one must in all circumstances walk through a customs checkpoint after passing passport control to Schengen at HEL. It is much less noticeable for example upstairs after passport control as there are rarely custom officers overseeing the corridor but even there one has the option to choose either green or red channel.

IME, travelling from USA to Finland via Germany I have several times been stopped by a customs officer for questioning at MUC and FRA even though I have only been transferring. So to be honest, I don't fully understand where one should clear customs.
haapalainen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 18, 12:10 pm
  #1041  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo (LTG) OW Emerald, SPG Platinum (LTG), UA Silver
Posts: 310
You should declare your carry on at the customs if necessary at the point you enter Europe (you see the customs for example when you go from non-Shengen to Schengen). Your customs check for the carry on is technically done when you enter Europe. For checked luggage you declare if you arrive ex-EU and you have something to declare when picking up your checked luggage (the luggage tag has a green stripe if you are traveling intra-EU). If you have checked through to a domestic flight there is a phone at HEL where you should declare your checked through luggage if necessary.

At each of these points there is a possibility for random checks.

If you are traveling intra-EU, random checks are not done. Only if there is a justified reason for the check it can be done (profiling, tip, etc...).
Aviating is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 3:55 am
  #1042  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HEL
Programs: lots of shiny metal cards
Posts: 8,000
Semantic problems, really Many people equate going through customs with going through immigration with going landside, even though they are three very different things, any of which can be done without the doing the other 2, depending on your dearture and arrival airports.

Basic examples:

Only going landside: FRA-HEL
Only passing immigration: LHR-HEL-FRA
Only passing customs: OSL-HEL
WilcoRoger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 4:16 am
  #1043  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Programs: AY Platinum, DL FO, AA, LH, TK, Marriott Silver
Posts: 308
Ok, I know that the rule number one is to NEVER book codeshare flights as they are pain in the butt..! Anyhow, I have an AA booking which includes JFK-HEL segment operated by AY and it seems that there is no way to get the seats reserved for that flight as AA refers me back to AY and AY cs agent (who seemed to be a bit lost in general) stated that there is no way to get seats assigned for that flight before the check-in is opened. This sounds unbelievable, but knowing AY IT, I'm not totally surprised. Usually this wouldn't be such a big of a deal but this time I'm traveling with two minors so it would be great to have seat assignments already in advance. What do you think, shall I just suck it up or is there any chance that there is someone somewhere in AY who could magically get the seats to me and my entourage?
DALtoAAL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 5:32 am
  #1044  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: HEL
Programs: anti-MaRiot SPG/IHG-P HH-D LeClub/CC-G, BA/A3-G DL/AY-P, Octopus
Posts: 4,873
Originally Posted by DALtoAAL View Post
Ok, I know that the rule number one is to NEVER book codeshare flights as they are pain in the butt..! Anyhow, I have an AA booking which includes JFK-HEL segment operated by AY and it seems that there is no way to get the seats reserved for that flight as AA refers me back to AY and AY cs agent (who seemed to be a bit lost in general) stated that there is no way to get seats assigned for that flight before the check-in is opened. This sounds unbelievable, but knowing AY IT, I'm not totally surprised. Usually this wouldn't be such a big of a deal but this time I'm traveling with two minors so it would be great to have seat assignments already in advance. What do you think, shall I just suck it up or is there any chance that there is someone somewhere in AY who could magically get the seats to me and my entourage?
There's a lot of discussion about this in this dedicated thread - Unable to book seats on codeshare flights
DALtoAAL likes this.
remymartin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 6:04 am
  #1045  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: AY Platinum Lumo (LTG) OW Emerald, SPG Platinum (LTG), UA Silver
Posts: 310
Originally Posted by DALtoAAL View Post
I have an AA booking which includes JFK-HEL segment operated by AY and it seems that there is no way to get the seats reserved for that flight
How did you buy the ticket?
I was able to reserve the seat through the TA, when AA and AY were pointing to each other in a circle.

My conclusion is that AY has some front end sw which can't deal with situation. The CS agent at AY said that he can't see the seat map with the AA flight number. I am pretty sure that they could reserve the seat if they do it directly in the GDS (Amadeus).
Aviating is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 6:37 am
  #1046  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Programs: AY Platinum, DL FO, AA, LH, TK, Marriott Silver
Posts: 308
I booked the flights through aa.com/fi.

Thanks for the tip, remymartin!
DALtoAAL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 7:19 am
  #1047  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: FLL
Programs: AY+ Gold
Posts: 94
Okay, I know this has been covered here before, but I'm still not 100% on this. I've booked a business class tkt MIA-LHR-CLT-MIA, via the Finnair site. The MIA-LHR-CLT segments are AY marketed and the CLT-MIA segment is AA. All segments on AA metal. Per the Finnair calculator I should get this if I've entered it all in correctly. Have I?


Thanks!
petteriusa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 7:22 am
  #1048  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: HEL
Programs: AY+Plat, Accor Gold, IHG Gold, Scandic L2
Posts: 2,247
Seems about right
Courmisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 7:27 am
  #1049  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: FLL
Programs: AY+ Gold
Posts: 94
Originally Posted by Courmisch View Post
Seems about right
Thanks, it's not clear if you need to enter in the marketing carrier or operating carrier on the calculator. The difference in this case is stark.
petteriusa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 18, 7:51 am
  #1050  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: HEL
Programs: AY+ Platinum (OWE), Accor Gold, Hilton Honors Gold
Posts: 1,448
Originally Posted by petteriusa View Post
Thanks, it's not clear if you need to enter in the marketing carrier or operating carrier on the calculator. The difference in this case is stark.
Marketing.
lkrt is online now  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread