Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > External Miles and Points Resources
Reload this Page >

How many blog [CC] affiliate links have you used?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 4, 2017, 4:32 pm
Original Poster

Programs: whatever it takes

So..I've been doing this MS/points/miles thing for a few years now. Got in on
some easy MS, and missed out on others.

I've read my fair share of blogs -

doc, frequentmiler, travelisfree, travelcodex, milevalue, onemileatatime mostly.. sometimes - travelwithgrant, upgradedpoints, milecards, tpg, welltraveledmile, milestomemories, mms, and a smattering of other random ones. There's another one that I don't remember the name of...some Asian woman does that. Her picture is in the corner anyway. [Edit: travelsort!]

So..I've realized I have only signed up for 1 card on an affiliate link - travelisfree a couple years ago. I have also clicked on Amazon/ebay from DOC and Travelwithgrant.

I need to do better.

The issue I've realized lately is certain cards aren't being offered on affiliate links. Nor are things like links with no 24-month language or incognito ones. Some cards might of been affiliate at one point, but it doesn't appear to be the case now. Or the personal is affiliate but the business is not (Marriott Business for example which I recently got). My recent B of A Asiana appears to have once been affiliate but not recently.

Also part of me earlier has avoided affiliate links because "they didn't offer the best deal" (Looking at TPG here) or it s shameless shilling, so to speak - "so I just avoid all of them." Or worries that if I go through an affiliate link my odds of getting approved might go down.

I have on my list to support frequentmiler (Barclay Arrival) and milevalue (Alaska Air? SPG Business?) if possible with my next CC applications.