FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   External Miles and Points Resources (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/external-miles-points-resources-723/)
-   -   Are bloggers getting paid to fly? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/external-miles-points-resources/1433262-bloggers-getting-paid-fly.html)

Astrophsx Jan 30, 2013 5:34 pm

Thanks for pointing out his most recent entry. It did in fact give a lot of detail on how he obtained the travel. I am not saying anything negative against him as a person. He just seems to be the most popular blogger that does trip reports. I just am asking if it is in any way funded by anything beyond miles. I'm not an expert on miles and there are many here on FT that have much more knowledge on the subject. I'm just asking if it is possible to be a full time travel blogger on miles alone. I get that bloggers like FTG do runs to get status and then upgrades, but it just seems like a high amount of miles that would be needed to travel that often in international first and does not seem to me to be sustainable by card churning or any other methods.

The comment about the twitterer post and my thoughts on the trip reports being jaded are better suited for another thread.

Tiki Jan 30, 2013 5:51 pm

Originally Posted by tlott (Post 20155898)
Most affiliate offers don't really have quotas (although as mentioned upthread, sometimes you will need to demonstrate that you have traffic to get approved on some offers; it depends on the advertiser), and generally you are free to decide how you want to promote them. It doesn't have to be sneaky. There is an affiliate program for just about anything. Though those programs will not bring in big money like credit card apps and other CPA (cost per action) affiliate offers, unless you start to generate a ton of volume.

Good luck!

(sorry for being off topic...)

Thanks! Yeah and volume is the one thing I am not going to get!

gpeso8 Jan 30, 2013 9:02 pm