Should I switch from Asiana Club to EVA IML?

Old Sep 8, 19, 12:40 am
Original Poster

Should I switch from Asiana Club to EVA IML?

Hi,

First time time posting here.. I'm based in Jakarta and I travel around 120-150k miles per year, I'm a small business owner, so I usually travel in Y/PE for work and Biz with my family. I used to not care so much about airlines status, so most of my travels are with points. However, there are a lot of Travel Fairs in Jakarta which offer incredible fares and I don't see the need to buy with points anymore, since the fares are often cheaper than buying with points.

So starting in November 2018, based on the reviews here, I joined Asiana Club and have accumulated 83k (17k more miles to Diamond Plus) but only 1 flight with Asiana when I was a gold. Most of the flights were with SQ or EVA. I don't see that SQ treats their KFEG well, so I don't really want to join them, but I do have tons of KF miles from my credit cards. So I emailed EVA Air out of curiosity, was offered a Gold match if I credit 12,500 miles to my new IML within 3 months. I'm flying CGK-SIN-LAX in SQ PE in a few days which would qualify (the agent told me to email him right away after the points are credited to IML) and confused whether I should switch to IML or just stay with OZ.

Here's the pro and con:

EVA
- Will be able to achieve Diamond in a year
- Not sure if I can always maintain the Diamond status, but Gold is fairly easy to maintain
- I don't see the real benefits of IML Gold (compared to OZ D+)
- No lifetime status
- Potential unnecessary travels just to maintain the status - which I don't really want
- No recognition when I don't travel as often
- Travel with EVA 3-4x a year (I do speak fluent Mandarin)

Asiana
- Super easy to achieve Diamond and Diamond Plus.
- Don't travel to Korea often (don't speak the language at all), and I prefer SQ or EVA when I travel to LA
- Before joining Asiana Club, I probably only fly with them once in 2-3 years.