Star Alliance Upgrade Award on EVA

Old Feb 8, 18, 11:51 pm
  #46  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area
Programs: UA 1k now; AA (no status); HY Diamond; SPG Platinum
Posts: 612
Originally Posted by username View Post
What does this mean? Married Segment Control, by definition, is when they tie the segments together for faring purposes. BR's upgrade, by rule, is per segment.
you are absolutely correct.

hence if you booked SFO-TPE-SIN. You canít use 30k miles total to upgrade SFO all the way to Singapore. But you can do 30k from SFO to tpe and another 25k from TPE to sin.
krispykrme is offline  
Old Mar 23, 18, 3:05 am
  #47  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 161
Does anyone know if there is a glitch currently in SAUA availability on BR? I'm trying to apply an SAUA to a BR flight showing availability on EF, but both Aeroplan and Asiana websites are saying no upgrade availability. I've actually changed the date of the flight between two days showing availability on EF, but neither day would show availability when I actually try to redeem the upgrade.
princesakura is offline  
Old Mar 23, 18, 3:55 am
  #48  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area
Programs: UA 1k now; AA (no status); HY Diamond; SPG Platinum
Posts: 612
Originally Posted by princesakura View Post
Does anyone know if there is a glitch currently in SAUA availability on BR? I'm trying to apply an SAUA to a BR flight showing availability on EF, but both Aeroplan and Asiana websites are saying no upgrade availability. I've actually changed the date of the flight between two days showing availability on EF, but neither day would show availability when I actually try to redeem the upgrade.
which class are you looking at for EF? It should be I class not Z.
krispykrme is offline  
Old Mar 23, 18, 10:43 am
  #49  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 161
Originally Posted by krispykrme View Post
which class are you looking at for EF? It should be I class not Z.
Yes, EF is reporting I class as "Yes". I also looked on KVS, which gives C+ for the same availability. I will try calling Aeroplan to see if they can manually process it.
princesakura is offline  
Old Mar 23, 18, 11:32 am
  #50  
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SFO
Programs: BR Diamond, Dynasty Flyer Paragon, Marriott Lifetime Plat
Posts: 1,789
Originally Posted by princesakura View Post
Yes, EF is reporting I class as "Yes". I also looked on KVS, which gives C+ for the same availability. I will try calling Aeroplan to see if they can manually process it.
They will have to probably call BR and inquire further about the availability.
hayzel7773 is offline  
Old Mar 23, 18, 1:21 pm
  #51  
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: OR
Posts: 1,279
Upgrade go to Z class. People use I class as a gauge of Z class availability since Z class won't show up on EF.
neuro0 is offline  
Old Mar 23, 18, 11:25 pm
  #52  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 161
Interesting... Some people have said SAUA availability is I and some have said Z, within this thread and others.
Aeroplan agent couldn't do anything to check availability. EVA agent said they can't see SAUA availablility and said Z was not available. Still not bookable via Aeroplan or Asiana. EF and KVS show I availability and CS+ respectively; in these circumstances, I could have easily upgraded via Aeroplan already. Not sure what's going on.
princesakura is offline  
Old Mar 24, 18, 6:41 am
  #53  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: TPE LAS LHR
Programs: BA Meltdown soft-landed Silver, OZ♦+ (flying BR/UA), WoH♦, HH♦, Mlife Noir, TR 7*
Posts: 4,975
My understanding (from both reading FT and IME) is SAUA needs Z class availability (need to call into BR to inquire for Z class) - not sure why others are saying I class.
gengar is offline  
Old Mar 24, 18, 12:19 pm
  #54  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,921
Originally Posted by gengar View Post
My understanding (from both reading FT and IME) is SAUA needs Z class availability (need to call into BR to inquire for Z class) - not sure why others are saying I class.
What people are reporting seem to be "need availability in Z but booked into I when it is all done".
username is offline  
Old Mar 24, 18, 12:38 pm
  #55  
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: OR
Posts: 1,279
Still booked into Z as that is shown on confirmation.
Again, straigh mile redemption go into I class like all star alliance carriers.
Z is mile upgrade to Business class from paid Y ticket.
neuro0 is offline  
Old Mar 24, 18, 4:00 pm
  #56  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: YYZ
Programs: Marriott/SPG, BR, CX, Aeroplan
Posts: 470
Mile upgrade from Y definitely books into Z and award definitely books into I class. Just made Aeroplan redemptions from last month for both.
Dave510 is offline  
Old Mar 24, 18, 9:04 pm
  #57  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: TPE LAS LHR
Programs: BA Meltdown soft-landed Silver, OZ♦+ (flying BR/UA), WoH♦, HH♦, Mlife Noir, TR 7*
Posts: 4,975
Originally Posted by username View Post
What people are reporting seem to be "need availability in Z but booked into I when it is all done".
IME (using UA miles), SAUA has always booked into Z.
gengar is offline  
Old Mar 25, 18, 12:02 am
  #58  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 42,308
Originally Posted by gengar View Post
not sure why others are saying I class.
Because that's where the *A upgrade books on most other carriers. An understandable mistake.
Kacee is offline  
Old Mar 25, 18, 8:18 am
  #59  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area
Programs: UA 1k now; AA (no status); HY Diamond; SPG Platinum
Posts: 612
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
Because that's where the *A upgrade books on most other carriers. An understandable mistake.
No.

I class is the only class to check SAUA upgrade for BR using UA miles.

BR upgrade inventory is Z class. This includes EVA own mileage upgrade and electronic certificate. But it doesnít make all of the Z inventory for SAUA upgrade. Those are I bucket (which is subset of Z). Thus there are cases where Z class is available but SAUA wonít clear.

I did a demo of this last year at a Chinese travel group on FB. EF showed Z only but no I. SAUA didnít work.

If I class is available but Aeroplan canít open the ticket online. Just call. Please make sure itís per segment.
krispykrme is offline  
Old Mar 25, 18, 8:22 am
  #60  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area
Programs: UA 1k now; AA (no status); HY Diamond; SPG Platinum
Posts: 612
Originally Posted by gengar View Post
IME (using UA miles), SAUA has always booked into Z.
I am not sure how to make this even more clear.

Z class is BR J upgrade- this includes BR own mileage upgrade, BR own upgrade certificate. But not all of the Z bucket are allocated for SAUA (why would BR treat SAUA higher than its own passenger).

I class as is a subset of Z that is assigned to star alliance redemption (including upgrade). Both after clear will be Z even though itís from I bucket.
krispykrme is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread