Star Alliance Upgrade Award on EVA

Old Nov 1, 16, 10:09 am
  #31  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: YYZ
Programs: A3&O6 Gold,IC AMB & HH Diamond
Posts: 13,549
So for SAUA to clear do you need Z or I availability on BR?
djjaguar64 is offline  
Old Nov 1, 16, 8:43 pm
  #32  
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SFO
Programs: BR Diamond, Dynasty Flyer Paragon, Marriott Lifetime Plat
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by djjaguar64 View Post
So for SAUA to clear do you need Z or I availability on BR?
I. Z is for mileage upgrades.
hayzel7773 is offline  
Old Jan 18, 18, 3:38 am
  #33  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ottawa
Programs: AC*SE100K
Posts: 57
Can't upgrade Premium economy ticket va Star Alliance (Air Canada)

I have a Premium Economy Class/L fare from SIN->YYZ. Apparently there is no option to upgrade Premium Economy fares as there is no matching fare class in the listed acceptable fares. I find this kind of hard to believe. Anyone else face this situation?
kerfluffer is offline  
Old Jan 31, 18, 4:26 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Programs: Star Alliance
Posts: 4
SEA-TPE-DPS

Hi everyone I have a few questions as I am looking into flying on Eva SEA-TPE-DPS on February 16th.

1. For using United miles to upgrade so I want to look for "I" or "Z" on EF?
2. If I wanted to upgrade using United miles, is "B" the correct code I am looking to book?
3. How would one purchase that correct ticket code for an Eva flight?
4. Once I purchase my ticket I then apply for the upgrade using my United miles is that correct?
5. I see through Eva's website a one-way business SEA-TPE-DPS is 75k United miles, is that a better deal than purchasing a ticket and using miles to upgrade? Not sure what the ratio is.

Really appreciate it
mecheallekruger is offline  
Old Jan 31, 18, 5:16 pm
  #35  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YVR
Posts: 1,637
I think I may have the answers here as I have been looking into similar with AE miles ... please, more BR-centric people, correct me if wrong!

1. Any *A upgrades are looking for "I" or reward availability ... only BR(EVA) can use the "Z" category ... could have this wrong
2. Correct, you need a "B" fare (or "K", which is the highest premium economy, costs quite a bit more, but at least if you lose the upgrade lotto you don't end up in econ)
3. Safest is to book via EVA website, highest priced flexible ECON seems to routinely price into "B"
4. Apply the upgrade via UA website if using UA miles (I would use AE website for Air Canada's Aeroplan miles)
5. Not sure what you mean about EVA's website showing *any* redemption for UA miles, as far as I know you can only redeem EVA miles on EVA's site. Keep in mind for *A upgrades the miles required are PER SEGMENT. Not always the best if you have two long flights ... for just one long haul and a short hop, *A upgrades can be great value.

A question for others - is there still a trend of some seats opening up closer to departure or has that disappeared and what you see is what you get?
nomadic.relief is offline  
Old Jan 31, 18, 7:40 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 130
Just to add in my experience. I just redeemed for a YYZ-TPE (and return) SAUA for flights about 2 months ahead. Business Class redemption was not available on Aeroplan's website, and ExpertFlyer showed no 'I" availability. However, I called in to ask if the upgrade was available, and the call agent confirmed so. Purchased B fare on EVA's website, and redeemed my Aeroplan miles after on Aeroplan's website without any problems.
flyCsG is offline  
Old Jan 31, 18, 10:50 pm
  #37  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CGK/LAX
Programs: KF,JMB, OZ, SPG,AA,UA,AS
Posts: 1,138
Originally Posted by mecheallekruger View Post
Hi everyone I have a few questions as I am looking into flying on Eva SEA-TPE-DPS on February 16th.
You will run into a married segment issue if you are attempting to use an SAUA on this itinerary.
gpeso8 is offline  
Old Feb 1, 18, 12:11 am
  #38  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area
Programs: UA 1k now; AA (no status); HY Diamond; SPG Platinum
Posts: 628
Originally Posted by gpeso8 View Post
You will run into a married segment issue if you are attempting to use an SAUA on this itinerary.
He can upgrade individually. SEA-TPE, TEP-DPS.
krispykrme is offline  
Old Feb 1, 18, 8:18 am
  #39  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CGK/LAX
Programs: KF,JMB, OZ, SPG,AA,UA,AS
Posts: 1,138
Originally Posted by krispykrme View Post


He can upgrade individually. SEA-TPE, TEP-DPS.
​​​​​It will not work with BR if he purchases SEA-TPE-DPS as a single itenarary even if each each segment has SAUA availability.
gpeso8 is offline  
Old Feb 1, 18, 2:21 pm
  #40  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YVR
Posts: 1,637
Originally Posted by flyCsG View Post
Just to add in my experience. I just redeemed for a YYZ-TPE (and return) SAUA for flights about 2 months ahead. Business Class redemption was not available on Aeroplan's website, and ExpertFlyer showed no 'I" availability. However, I called in to ask if the upgrade was available, and the call agent confirmed so. Purchased B fare on EVA's website, and redeemed my Aeroplan miles after on Aeroplan's website without any problems.
Curious, did you confirm *A upgrades specifically were available? I just called for my flights and was told there were upgrades available, but that it might only be for EVA, she couldn't say for sure.
*If it were out of the US I'd just purchase, try and refund within 24 hours if it didn't work, but that's not an option departing from Canada
nomadic.relief is offline  
Old Feb 1, 18, 3:28 pm
  #41  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by flyCsG View Post
Just to add in my experience. I just redeemed for a YYZ-TPE (and return) SAUA for flights about 2 months ahead. Business Class redemption was not available on Aeroplan's website, and ExpertFlyer showed no 'I" availability. However, I called in to ask if the upgrade was available, and the call agent confirmed so. Purchased B fare on EVA's website, and redeemed my Aeroplan miles after on Aeroplan's website without any problems.
How many Aeroplan miles did that cost? I've never done an Aeroplan upgrade before however I have a lot of miles to use up. This could be a good option for me.
mxqisit is offline  
Old Feb 2, 18, 1:38 am
  #42  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area
Programs: UA 1k now; AA (no status); HY Diamond; SPG Platinum
Posts: 628
Originally Posted by gpeso8 View Post
​​​​​It will not work with BR if he purchases SEA-TPE-DPS as a single itenarary even if each each segment has SAUA availability.
That is not true.

I was able to upgrade my daughter from SFO to ICN just last November.

EVA just wonít allow you to use 30k to upgrade entire trip. It wants each leg upgraded with same mile as you are upgrading one leg.

You just have to burn more miles.

You can upgrade individually even if itís married segment.
krispykrme is offline  
Old Feb 3, 18, 12:04 am
  #43  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YVR
Posts: 1,637
Originally Posted by mxqisit View Post
How many Aeroplan miles did that cost? I've never done an Aeroplan upgrade before however I have a lot of miles to use up. This could be a good option for me.
Just did it now, thanks to flyCsG's tip! 25,000 oneway from B fare YVR-TPE. Debating adding the 90 minute connection for an additional 10,000. Odds are I'll just fall asleep anyhow, so not as convinced on the second value.
nomadic.relief is offline  
Old Feb 3, 18, 9:22 am
  #44  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,795
Originally Posted by gpeso8 View Post
You will run into a married segment issue if you are attempting to use an SAUA on this itinerary.
What does this mean? Married Segment Control, by definition, is when they tie the segments together for faring purposes. BR's upgrade, by rule, is per segment.
username is online now  
Old Feb 6, 18, 4:56 am
  #45  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 130
Originally Posted by nomadic.relief View Post
Curious, did you confirm *A upgrades specifically were available? I just called for my flights and was told there were upgrades available, but that it might only be for EVA, she couldn't say for sure.
*If it were out of the US I'd just purchase, try and refund within 24 hours if it didn't work, but that's not an option departing from Canada
Forgot to check back on the thread. Yes, I asked specifically for SAUA.

Originally Posted by mxqisit View Post
How many Aeroplan miles did that cost? I've never done an Aeroplan upgrade before however I have a lot of miles to use up. This could be a good option for me.
25K each way, so 50K total. Worth nothing my itinerary is actually YYZ-TPE-KUL-TPE-YYZ. The segments with KUL were not upgraded (no availability).
flyCsG is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: