Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Europe
Reload this Page >

Covid Testing in (Rural) Austria

Covid Testing in (Rural) Austria

Old Oct 25, 2021, 12:36 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MEX
Programs: AC E75K
Posts: 4,160
Covid Testing in (Rural) Austria

We're spending the Christmas / New Years at a B&B in Landl, Austria, near Gesäuse National Park. We're checking out from the B&B on January 2, driving to and staying overnight in Vienna, and departing from VIE at 10:30am on January 3. Canada (where we're flying to) requires a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of departure time.

Given this situation, the testing centres in Vienna likely don't leave enough time for us to get tested there on January 2. Does anyone know of other testing facilities closer to Landl that will be operating on Dec 31 or Jan 1? Alternatively, does anyone have experience with the self-administered at-home tests offered by https://allesgurgelt.at/?

Many thanks!
capedreamer is offline  
Old Oct 28, 2021, 2:20 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MCO
Programs: Hilton Diamond, AA PP
Posts: 541
Try this place in VIenna. https://www.dermacare.at/en/service/...d-test-vienna/ or https://www.dermacare.at/en/service/...b-test-vienna/

They can do a 15 minute antigen or PCR in 12 hours or less.

Easy location within the inner ring.
capedreamer likes this.
Annerk is offline  
Old Oct 28, 2021, 3:42 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MEX
Programs: AC E75K
Posts: 4,160
Originally Posted by Annerk
Try this place in VIenna. https://www.dermacare.at/en/service/...d-test-vienna/ or https://www.dermacare.at/en/service/...b-test-vienna/

They can do a 15 minute antigen or PCR in 12 hours or less.

Easy location within the inner ring.
Thank you! Still not ideal given our travel plans, but I really didn't plan our itinerary well to account for limited testing locations outside Vienna + fewer testing sites being open around the New Years holidays. I guess I'll keep looking for options but this is a good backup. Thank you!
Annerk likes this.
capedreamer is offline  
Old Oct 28, 2021, 5:51 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MCO
Programs: Hilton Diamond, AA PP
Posts: 541
Originally Posted by capedreamer
Thank you! Still not ideal given our travel plans, but I really didn't plan our itinerary well to account for limited testing locations outside Vienna + fewer testing sites being open around the New Years holidays. I guess I'll keep looking for options but this is a good backup. Thank you!
You can get an antigen test at the Airport as well. Timing is tight but doable. I'd get there early (probably an hour before they open) and get in line. Alternately if you are flying into Vienna the previous day you can get the test done when you arrive for the following day. https://www.viennaairport.com/en/coronatest
Annerk is offline  
Old Oct 28, 2021, 6:52 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MEX
Programs: AC E75K
Posts: 4,160
Originally Posted by Annerk
You can get an antigen test at the Airport as well. Timing is tight but doable. I'd get there early (probably an hour before they open) and get in line. Alternately if you are flying into Vienna the previous day you can get the test done when you arrive for the following day. https://www.viennaairport.com/en/coronatest
Thank you. The website indicates "the result is available within a few hours", which seems a bit risky if they open at 7am and my flight is at 10:30am.

I found this 2-hour FasTest that seems like it could work (if a bit pricey).
capedreamer is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2021, 8:29 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: IAD
Programs: UA 1K & 2MM, MR Titanium
Posts: 431
Originally Posted by Annerk
You can get an antigen test at the Airport as well. Timing is tight but doable. I'd get there early (probably an hour before they open) and get in line. Alternately if you are flying into Vienna the previous day you can get the test done when you arrive for the following day. https://www.viennaairport.com/en/coronatest
I echo Vienna Airport for antigen test. I did it twice, mostly recently a few days ago, there was no line and results came back within 30 minutes (YMMV). Very organized and cost is reasonable 25 Euros.
Annerk likes this.
lotemblizej is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2021, 8:43 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MCO
Programs: Hilton Diamond, AA PP
Posts: 541
Originally Posted by capedreamer
Thank you. The website indicates "the result is available within a few hours", which seems a bit risky if they open at 7am and my flight is at 10:30am.

I found this 2-hour FasTest that seems like it could work (if a bit pricey).
The antigen test gives results in 30 minutes and is € 25,00. If you are there with your paperwork filled out and first in line, you'll have your test results by 7:45. Plenty of time to drop bags, have breakfast, and get to the gate an hour before boarding begins.
Annerk is offline  
Old Oct 29, 2021, 1:19 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MEX
Programs: AC E75K
Posts: 4,160
Originally Posted by Annerk
The antigen test gives results in 30 minutes and is € 25,00. If you are there with your paperwork filled out and first in line, you'll have your test results by 7:45. Plenty of time to drop bags, have breakfast, and get to the gate an hour before boarding begins.
Unfortunately, Canada requires PCR.
capedreamer is offline  
Old Nov 4, 2021, 7:24 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE MM, BW Diamond Select
Posts: 697
FFP2 Mask Question

I didn't want to create a new post, but I'm reading that FFP2 are required in many (if not most) indoor and transportation settings.

Should I spend a small fortune importing a box of FFP2 masks from Europe to Canada, or can I buy some at a pharmacy inside FRA, ZRH, while transiting, or before I exit VIE?

The trip is around the Christmas timeframe.

Thanks for any help you can provide.
TTC900Rocket is online now  
Old Nov 5, 2021, 5:26 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: IAD
Programs: UA 1K & 2MM, MR Titanium
Posts: 431
Originally Posted by TTC900Rocket
I didn't want to create a new post, but I'm reading that FFP2 are required in many (if not most) indoor and transportation settings.

Should I spend a small fortune importing a box of FFP2 masks from Europe to Canada, or can I buy some at a pharmacy inside FRA, ZRH, while transiting, or before I exit VIE?

The trip is around the Christmas timeframe.

Thanks for any help you can provide.
I was in Austria recently and found that N95 or KN95 masks were fine in place of FFP2 masks everywhere I went, including on the plane to/from Austria.
TTC900Rocket likes this.
lotemblizej is offline  
Old Nov 8, 2021, 6:55 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC SE MM, BW Diamond Select
Posts: 697
Thanks - I’ll see if the airport pharmacies have any while I’m in transit.

I have a couple of K95 masks ready, anyway.
TTC900Rocket is online now  
Old Nov 19, 2021, 2:40 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: btw Athens & Patras
Programs: Le Club Accor
Posts: 200
10 days total lockdown with option for more 10 days ! UN-vacinated person after the 10 or 20 days or when finished still in lockdown !
gioannis13 is offline  
Old Nov 19, 2021, 3:05 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MEX
Programs: AC E75K
Posts: 4,160
Originally Posted by gioannis13
10 days total lockdown with option for more 10 days ! UN-vacinated person after the 10 or 20 days or when finished still in lockdown !
Looks like you're referring to this.

Ugh... struggling to decide if I should cancel our trip slated for Dec 23-Jan 3 to Vienna and the Gesäuse National Park now (and try to rebook elsewhere) or wait and hope for the best.
capedreamer is offline  
Old Nov 19, 2021, 4:58 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: btw Athens & Patras
Programs: Le Club Accor
Posts: 200
....Untill maximum to 12 Dec !
gioannis13 is offline  
Old Nov 19, 2021, 6:34 am
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MEX
Programs: AC E75K
Posts: 4,160
Originally Posted by gioannis13
....Untill maximum to 12 Dec !
But it can be revisited and extended? I don’t really understand what a “maximum” means in that case…

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-59343650.amp
capedreamer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.