No more tail camera on A380?

Old Jun 9, 19, 10:36 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Programs: Emirates Skywards Gold, Aeroplan, Club Carlson Silver, Marriott Silver
Posts: 858
No more tail camera on A380?

I was on a newer A380 the other day (A6-EU something) and there was no tail camera -- or so it seemed. All that came up was a blank screen. The other two camera views were available. Do the newer frames not have the tail camera?

Last edited by Saltire74; Jun 11, 19 at 10:30 pm Reason: Adding a ? to the title
JTXC is offline  
Old Jun 9, 19, 10:38 pm
  #2  
Moderator: Trip Reports
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,124
Same for me last week (DXB-MRU-DXB).
DanielW is offline  
Old Jun 9, 19, 10:49 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MAN DXB ✈️
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 6,314
Same for me man Dxb on a new frame...
m3red is offline  
Old Jun 10, 19, 12:04 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: LGW / AMS / CPT
Programs: SA KL BA EK
Posts: 2,441
Originally Posted by JTXC View Post
I was on a newer A380 the other day (A6-EU something) and there was no tail camera -- or so it seemed. All that came up was a blank screen. The other two camera views were available. Do the newer frames not have the tail camera?
Same ting for me in Jan / Feb on what was then (maybe still is?) the newest A380. Thought it was ‘out of order’ on the outbound and was surprised it had not been ‘fixed’ when I was on the same frame on the inbound a few weeks later.
Never occurred to me that it was linked to a new frame.
ams2174 likes this.
thijsseh is online now  
Old Jun 10, 19, 2:52 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DXB
Programs: EK, AA, DL, UA, SPG, HGP, Amex
Posts: 1,042
Same for me on A6-EU* frame last week.
extramileage is offline  
Old Jun 10, 19, 9:37 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dubai, UAE
Programs: Marriott Rewards Gold
Posts: 83
It's just a software issue. It's working on the newer ones (A6-EV*).
Tibs94 is offline  
Old Jun 10, 19, 10:08 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Programs: Emirates Skywards Gold, Aeroplan, Club Carlson Silver, Marriott Silver
Posts: 858
I wondered if the camera was no longer available, but they had not modified the software. I should also note that I should have added the question mark to my posting title.
JTXC is offline  
Old Jun 11, 19, 4:43 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: Skywards
Posts: 449
Same here on DXB-GLA last week, best view is that of a tail one
S c 0 TT y is offline  
Old Jun 11, 19, 10:31 pm
  #9  
Moderator, Emirates
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Where My Heart Is
Programs: BAEC Silver, EK Blue
Posts: 2,820
Originally Posted by JTXC View Post
I wondered if the camera was no longer available, but they had not modified the software. I should also note that I should have added the question mark to my posting title.


Done

S
Saltire74 is offline  
Old Jun 13, 19, 3:25 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Islamabad, PK (ISB)
Programs: Skywards Blue
Posts: 651
The camera can be seen on the tail of the A6-EUx frames, so it's probably a glitch with the IFE.
murtaza12 is offline  
Old Jun 16, 19, 12:07 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Programs: British Airways
Posts: 24
Tail camera working fine for me on A6-EEO to Glasgow just now.
ld0595 is offline  
Old Jun 16, 19, 7:48 am
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Programs: Emirates Skywards Gold, Aeroplan, Club Carlson Silver, Marriott Silver
Posts: 858
I was on a A6-EE something two days ago DXB-AMM and it worked.
JTXC is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread