Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Emirates | Skywards
Reload this Page >

EK DXB-MAA is $200 upgrade worth it?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 17, 2018, 10:34 am
Original Poster

I have been flying OW exclusively for the last 5 years and haven't flown EK in a while. I'm flying SFO-DXB-MAA this weekend and I got a $200 upgrade offer for the last leg. Is it worth it?

I have exit row at the moment and I'm tall. EK operates a 777-300ER on this route.

I'm looking for an upgrade offer in the first leg and will very likely pull the trigger if I get one for sub $1000. Anyone with recent data on this?
Old Oct 17, 2018, 10:50 am

Programs: Skywards Blue :-(, HHonors Gold, SPG Gold, GHA Platinum
If they give you EK lounge access at DXB and chauffeur drive at MAA , I would say its worth it(especially if you have a long layover at DXB )

The problem is that a lot of the cash upgrades do not have either ..
Old Oct 17, 2018, 11:30 am

Programs: Skywards Gold
Originally Posted by ukdoctor
If they give you EK lounge access at DXB and chauffeur drive at MAA , I would say its worth it(especially if you have a long layover at DXB )

The problem is that a lot of the cash upgrades do not have either ..
They definitely do not include these benefits
Old Oct 17, 2018, 12:43 pm
Original Poster

No lounge access or chauffeur drive. I'm inclined to wait it out. Praying to get an upgrade offer for the SFO-DXB leg 🤞
Old Oct 17, 2018, 1:26 pm

Programs: Skywards Blue :-(, HHonors Gold, SPG Gold, GHA Platinum
Originally Posted by skywardhunter
They definitely do not include these benefits

Outstation lounges are usually excluded and so is the chauffeur drive. A friend did get access to the DXB lounge a few months ago on a cash upgrade. He is only a blue.

Are you sure that all cash offers exclude the DXB lounge ?

i will try to contact him and try to find out.
Old Oct 17, 2018, 2:31 pm
Original Poster

ukdoctor likes this.