Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Emirates | Skywards
Reload this Page >

Flights to Johannesburg - Which Concourse at DXB?

Flights to Johannesburg - Which Concourse at DXB?

Old Nov 17, 17, 7:44 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: The World! Home Base = DCA/IAD
Programs: HHonors, Hyatt GP, Marriott, Varying Levels w/ UA /LH /DL /SQ /TG /AA /QF
Posts: 2,564
Flights to Johannesburg - Which Concourse at DXB?

Is there any way of knowing what concourse EK uses for flights to Joburg? Some int'l airlines will use specific terminals for certain destinations, and I wasn't sure if Emirates uses, say, Concourse B for all flights to ABC, Concourse A for all flights to XYZ, etc.

Or do the concourses vary each day?

I did a search and found nothing on this.
TravelinWilly is offline  
Old Nov 17, 17, 8:40 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MAN DXB ✈️
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 6,528
It will,likely be A or B but C sometimes gets used for flights you may not expect - there is no hard rule except for the Qantas flights from A gates.
m3red is offline  
Old Nov 17, 17, 10:40 pm
  #3  
Ambassador, Emirates
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: LGW / AMS / CPT
Programs: SA KL BA EK
Posts: 3,116
No way of predicting. For instance today:
EK 761 leaves from B26, EK763 from B23, EK765 from A21 and EK767 from C9
All as per ExpertFlyer (and these still may change)
thijsseh is offline  
Old Nov 18, 17, 3:25 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Economy, mostly :(
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 7,781
Originally Posted by m3red View Post
It will,likely be A or B but C sometimes gets used for flights you may not expect - there is no hard rule except for the Qantas flights from A gates.
SA flights have had a lot of C bus gates in my experience!

It's totally random, get the DXB Airport app and you can find out in the inbound flight if you have WiFi and get push notifications in case if changes.
skywardhunter is offline  
Old Nov 18, 17, 9:35 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: The World! Home Base = DCA/IAD
Programs: HHonors, Hyatt GP, Marriott, Varying Levels w/ UA /LH /DL /SQ /TG /AA /QF
Posts: 2,564
m3red, thijsseh, and skywardhunter, thank you for the info!

It looks like a tossup.

The flight I'm on will be an A380, so I'm assuming(?) that it won't be a bus gate, but I guess one never knows...

Thanks again.
TravelinWilly is offline  
Old Nov 18, 17, 9:54 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Economy, mostly :(
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 7,781
Originally Posted by TravelinWilly View Post
m3red, thijsseh, and skywardhunter, thank you for the info!

It looks like a tossup.

The flight I'm on will be an A380, so I'm assuming(?) that it won't be a bus gate, but I guess one never knows...

Thanks again.
You know what they say when you assume...

Even A380s get the occasional bus gate
skywardhunter is offline  
Old Nov 18, 17, 7:45 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: The World! Home Base = DCA/IAD
Programs: HHonors, Hyatt GP, Marriott, Varying Levels w/ UA /LH /DL /SQ /TG /AA /QF
Posts: 2,564
Originally Posted by skywardhunter View Post
You know what they say when you assume...

Even A380s get the occasional bus gate
So, like, totally off topic question...if a 380 gets a bus gate, what do they do for any pax on the upper deck who needs a wheelchair? Or would they ensure that particular flight got a gate?
TravelinWilly is offline  
Old Nov 18, 17, 7:56 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Economy, mostly :(
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 7,781
Originally Posted by TravelinWilly View Post
So, like, totally off topic question...if a 380 gets a bus gate, what do they do for any pax on the upper deck who needs a wheelchair? Or would they ensure that particular flight got a gate?
The same as someone on the lower deck who needs a wheelchair...? A dedicated lift-van vehicle contraption, that extends up like a catering truck. Fair enough question as I haven't specifically seen one go to the 2nd floor but I'm sure they can, otherwise they'll just have someone carry them up the stairs I guess
skywardhunter is offline  
Old Nov 18, 17, 8:18 pm
  #9  
Ambassador: Emirates
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Programs: EK Gold, IHG Plat, QF SG, HH Gold, KLM FB
Posts: 928
You can look at flightaware for a bit of ‘gate history’. I am in A maybe 65% of the time. It’s where I much prefer to be anyway.
sydtogla is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: