Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Emirates | Skywards
Reload this Page >

Helo with going into lounge and then leaving airport

Helo with going into lounge and then leaving airport

Old Jan 28, 16, 10:27 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Programs: Emirates Silver, BA, Flying Blue, Virgin, IHG
Posts: 949
Help with going into lounge and then leaving airport

I know there's a posting (maybe more than one) on how to do this but I can't find it!

I'm currently in the A lounge having arrived from MAN overnight in Y. My onward flight (JNB) is at 11.35pm (had to be rerouted at airport due to late cancelled onward connection Lusaka to Lilongwe and I decided a day in Dubai and overnight to JNB was preferable to an overnight in Lusaka - if I hadn't already been at airport I might have stayed home and travelled today) so I thought I'd meet sone friends in Dubai. I know people have posted how to leave airport after you've been in lounge but I've never paid much attention as I never thought I'd need it. And now I do I can't find it!

Off for a couple of hours sleep and then meeting friends downtown sometime this afternoon (if someone can help me get out of here!)

Last edited by HelloKittysMum; Jan 28, 16 at 10:59 pm
HelloKittysMum is offline  
Old Jan 28, 16, 11:17 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: JNB
Programs: Asiana Club, Mileage Plan, Skywards, Flying Blue, HHonors
Posts: 131
I did this recently from A.

Just take the lift or escalator back down as if going back to train. When you get down to same level as train, approach one of the staff in a Dubai Airport Authority t-shirt and explain you are in transit but just received a call and need to pop into DXB briefly.

They will escort you to a lift, open it with a key, and give you directions to immigration once they have sent you on your way.

It seems this is a frequent request as the staff who helped me did not bat an eyelid.
groundops is offline  
Old Jan 28, 16, 11:22 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5,156
Two ways to do it - either go back down to the transit security level and go through the wrong way and head to the elevators down to the train, or go down to the train level and ask the staff to open the doors between the transit area train and the train to immigration at B.
eternaltransit is offline  
Old Jan 29, 16, 10:56 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Programs: Emirates Silver, BA, Flying Blue, Virgin, IHG
Posts: 949
Worked perfectly and I had 4 hours in dubai with a friend. Now back in airport for next leg (to be followed by 6 hours in joburg and another 4 hour flight (incl a stop)). Wish emirates flew to Lilongwe...
HelloKittysMum is offline  
Old Jan 29, 16, 11:32 am
  #5  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,448
Originally Posted by HelloKittysMum View Post
Worked perfectly and I had 4 hours in dubai with a friend. Now back in airport for next leg (to be followed by 6 hours in joburg and another 4 hour flight (incl a stop)). Wish emirates flew to Lilongwe...
I wish I knew where Lilongwe was
DYKWIA is offline  
Old Jan 29, 16, 11:36 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Programs: Emirates Silver, BA, Flying Blue, Virgin, IHG
Posts: 949
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
Originally Posted by HelloKittysMum View Post
Worked perfectly and I had 4 hours in dubai with a friend. Now back in airport for next leg (to be followed by 6 hours in joburg and another 4 hour flight (incl a stop)). Wish emirates flew to Lilongwe...
I wish I knew where Lilongwe was
Malawi
HelloKittysMum is offline  
Old Jan 30, 16, 3:20 am
  #7  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,448
Originally Posted by HelloKittysMum View Post
Malawi
Yeah, I had to look it up!
DYKWIA is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: