Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Emirates | Skywards
Reload this Page >

Anyone have any thoughts on my problem with Emirates

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 31, 2014, 1:29 pm
Original Poster

Hi, I’m a newbie and I’m hoping that someone somewhere can help me with a very frustrating Emirates problem. The story thus far: My significant other and I flew to Auckland NZ from Birmingham UK. We booked our flights direct with Emirates over the phone approx 8 months before we were due to travel at a cost of £2,500. We wanted to fly to Dunedin on the South Island but Emirates do not fly there - this was confirmed on the phone when booking the flights. We therefore booked the last flight of the day out of Auckland with Air New Zealand. We were due to arrive in Auckland at 2.00pm local time and our Dunedin flight was due to leave at 4.00pm local time giving us 2 hours to change flights.

However, our flight out of Birmingham was delayed over an hour due to operational problems, we were then late leaving Dubai by almost 2 hours due to technical problems on board the aircraft and finally we were late leaving Sydney where the aircraft was emptied of crew and passengers, it was cleaned and new passengers got on - the outcome of all these delays - we missed our flight to Dunedin.

Emirates didn’t/don’t want to know despite the fact that they are responsible for us missing our flight and for further spends of £800 for overnight accommodation & new flights plus flights/accommodation we’d already booked and paid for.

We of course approached the desk clerk on the Emirates desk in Auckland Airport on arrival and she was nothing less than rude, aggressive and totally unsympathetic and could think of nothing better to say than “claim it off your insurance’.